Announcement

Collapse

PMDG Forum Rules

1) SIGN YOUR POSTS. Since 1997, we have asked users to sign their real name, first and last, to all posts in the PMDG forum. We do this in order to keep conversations personal and familiar. You took the time to be here, we want to get to know you. This is one of the few rigid rules that we enforce regularly. We do so because we feel that forums in which users must engage one another personally are generally warmer, more collegial and friendly. Posts that are unsigned will be quietly removed without comment by the moderators, so to make your life easy- we recommend enabling your forum signature so that you never need to remember. Do this by clicking the username pull-down at the top right, then selecting "User Settings." You will find the signature editor on the ACCOUNT tab, about half way down the page. Look for "Edit Post Signature." Be sure to click the "Show Signatures" box.

2) BE NICE. We are all simmers here and no matter our differences of opinion, we share a common love of aviation, computing and simulation. Treat everyone else in the forum with respect even when you disagree. If someone frustrates you, walk away from the conversation or ask for a moderator to get involved. Speaking of Moderators, they prefer not to be treated as "The Thought Police" but if any behavior infringes on the enjoyment of another user or is otherwise considered to be unacceptable in the moderator's judgment, it will be addressed in keeping with our view of ensuring that this forum remains a healthy environment for all simmers.

3) BE LAWFUL: Any behavior that infringes upon the law, such as discussion or solicitation of piracy, threats, intimidation or abuse will be handled unsympathetically by the moderators. Threats and intimidation may, at the moderator's discretion, be provided to law enforcement for handling.

4) BE FACTUAL: When you post, always be factual. Moderators will remove posts that are determined not to be factually accurate.

5) RESPECT COPYRIGHTS: Posting of copyrighted material such as flight manuals owned by Boeing or various airlines is not allowed in this forum. If you have questions related to copyrighted material, please contact a forum moderator for clarification.

6) RESPECT PMDG: We love to hear what you like about our products. We also like to hear what you think can be improved, or what isn't working. Please do tell us and we will always treat your feedback with value. Just be sure to treat the team respectfully, as they do put a significant amount of effort into building and maintaining these great simulation products for you.

7) RESPECT PMDG DEVELOPERS: All of the developers will spend some time here. Given the ratio of developers-to-users, it simply isn't possible for us to answer every post and private message individually. Please know that we do try to read everything, but developer workload is simply too high to manage personal contact with tens-of-thousands of users simultaneously. In most cases, members of the development team will stick to conversations in the forum and will not answer private messages.

8) RESPECT OTHER DEVELOPERS: PMDG has always advocated for a strong development community and we have many friends within this community. Every developer offers something unique that helps to make the simming community larger and more vibrant. We insist that you treat our friends respectfully.

9) RESPECT MODERATORS: Moderators have a tough job, and none of them enjoy having to stomp out negativity. If a moderator has to weigh in to keep a thread peaceful, please respect that effort and refrain from giving the moderator any grief.

10) If you require official support for any of our products please open a support ticket through the support portal, https://support.precisionmanuals.com

11) This forum is designed primarily as a vehicle for the PMDG development team to interact with our customers, and for customers to interact with one another in a manner that is positive, supportive and assists in the general advancement of understanding the simulation and helping to make this and future simulations better. Any other use of this forum is not permitted, including but not limited to discussion of pricing policies, business practices, forum moderating policies, advertising of non-PMDG products, promotion of events, services or products that are not approved in advance by PMDG or any other topic deemed unacceptable by any forum administrator

12) HAVE FUN: This is the whole point of it all.
See more
See less

DC6 and Bravo Throttle

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    DC6 and Bravo Throttle

    Hey everyone,

    usually just lurking in the background I now have a question myself.
    I'm very happy with the DC6 for Msfs - really an outstanding piece of software - and now I finally received my Honeycomb Bravo Throttle Quadrant

    Now my question is, how do I get the two working together?
    Can anyone point me to a forum post/ youtube tutorial/ etc. how to best set up the Bravo Throttle for the Dc6?
    Obviously your experience with this is also highly appreciated.

    Best regards
    Konrad Lotter
    Home base: LOWW

    #2
    Hi Konrad - I can't point to a post or youtube (I am sure there are some out there). However, here are a few pointers.

    1 - MSFS will assign a default profile to the Bravo Throttle - you can keep it but you want a blank one to start with for the DC-6
    2 - Do you have the alpha yoke too? If so start with a blank profile for this one too
    3 - Go through and assign the controls you want (i.e. throttles 1,2,3 etc.) - Don't assign an axis to the mixture. With the auto rich and auto lean the plane already has its not needed and an axis will only give you grief.
    4 - Some assignments are not possible or will be difficult to get to work right...i.e. autopilot comes to mind. So far I just control it through the virtual cockpit with the mouse.
    5 - There are some pointers here in the forums for control sensitivities. The suggested ones seem to work well.

    https://forum.pmdg.com/forum/main-fo...-the-msfs-dc-6

    Hope this helps a little.
    Last edited by sirbruchie; 07Sep2021, 13:24.
    Ben Bruchie

    Comment


      #3
      I consider the Bravo a necessity to experience the DC-6 properly, there’s nothing like grabbing a fistful of throttles and also controlling the gyropilot with knobs and buttons.

      Regarding the gyropilot, you will need a copy of “Axis and Ohs” available at SimMarket or Just Flight. There are included scripts for the DC-6 including the gyropilot and most of the knobs on the various consoles and panels. If you have any questions, contact the developer at the email included in the manual, he is very helpful and responsive.

      Enjoy.
      Fred Douglas

      Comment


        #4
        Hello,

        just purchased and installed the DC-6 last night, flew a quick circuit - it’s wonderful.

        Now, I have the Alpha + Bravo and would only like the bare minimum setup for it.

        So what controls do I need to set up? Asking because I don’t know yet!

        Throttles for sure.

        Gear lever? Seems to interfere with the AFE.

        Flaps up/down switch on the Bravo OK?

        Propeller?

        I also don’t know which specific MSFS controls should be mapped. E.g. Throttle Axis 0-100% or Throttle Axis (without percentages)? What about the prop lever? I couldn’t find anything in the manual.

        sincerely,

        Wojtek Pietrusiewicz
        Sincerely,

        Wojtek Pietrusiewicz

        Comment


          #5
          Originally posted by Moridin View Post
          Hello,

          just purchased and installed the DC-6 last night, flew a quick circuit - it’s wonderful.

          Now, I have the Alpha + Bravo and would only like the bare minimum setup for it.

          So what controls do I need to set up? Asking because I don’t know yet!

          Throttles for sure.

          Gear lever? Seems to interfere with the AFE.

          Flaps up/down switch on the Bravo OK?

          Propeller?

          I also don’t know which specific MSFS controls should be mapped. E.g. Throttle Axis 0-100% or Throttle Axis (without percentages)? What about the prop lever? I couldn’t find anything in the manual.

          sincerely,

          Wojtek Pietrusiewicz
          Gear lever it does intervene, I have it on my "flow" when Gear Up is called to rise the Gear on the Bravo or put it down. So no issues there.
          Flaps, I have set the Flap Lever, not the button for more realism
          Propeller is set to the axis used normally for speedbrake ie the most left one
          I have also set the To/GA button on No1 throttle lever to Water rudder up/down to toggle the reverser bar.

          All these are on a separate Profile on the Bravo.
          Chris Makris (Olympic260)
          PMDG Technical Support
          http://www.pmdg.com

          Comment


            #6
            Originally posted by cmakris View Post

            Gear lever it does intervene, I have it on my "flow" when Gear Up is called to rise the Gear on the Bravo or put it down. So no issues there.
            Flaps, I have set the Flap Lever, not the button for more realism
            Propeller is set to the axis used normally for speedbrake ie the most left one
            I have also set the To/GA button on No1 throttle lever to Water rudder up/down to toggle the reverser bar.

            All these are on a separate Profile on the Bravo.
            Going to set it up like this now. Thanks!

            sincerely,

            Wojtek Pietrusiewicz
            Sincerely,

            Wojtek Pietrusiewicz

            Comment


              #7
              Originally posted by cmakris View Post

              Gear lever it does intervene, I have it on my "flow" when Gear Up is called to rise the Gear on the Bravo or put it down. So no issues there.
              Flaps, I have set the Flap Lever, not the button for more realism
              Propeller is set to the axis used normally for speedbrake ie the most left one
              I have also set the To/GA button on No1 throttle lever to Water rudder up/down to toggle the reverser bar.

              All these are on a separate Profile on the Bravo.
              Do I need to set just PROPELLER 1 AXIS in MSFS?

              Wish this was in the manual… hard to figure out.

              sincerely,

              Wojtek Pietrusiewicz
              Sincerely,

              Wojtek Pietrusiewicz

              Comment


                #8
                Originally posted by Moridin View Post

                Do I need to set just PROPELLER 1 AXIS in MSFS?

                Wish this was in the manual… hard to figure out.

                sincerely,

                Wojtek Pietrusiewicz
                Nor Propeller Axis1. Propeller Axis with no numbers. Not possible to be in the manual as we can not cover all possible options with controllers setups etc. Each user has it's own preferences.
                Chris Makris (Olympic260)
                PMDG Technical Support
                http://www.pmdg.com

                Comment


                  #9
                  Originally posted by cmakris View Post

                  Nor Propeller Axis1. Propeller Axis with no numbers. Not possible to be in the manual as we can not cover all possible options with controllers setups etc. Each user has it's own preferences.
                  Have I got a story to tell. I’ll try to get it written up tomorrow. Happened to my 3rd DC-6 flight. Over the Alps!

                  Thanks, Prop Axis w/o numbers worked correctly!

                  I do have a question about the Bravo…

                  Would it be possible via Axis And Ohs to twist the left knob to CRS and use the right knob to adjust the OBS? I’d also like to use e.g. IAS on the left knob to control the Gyro Pilot trim with the right knob (left for nose down, right for nose up). I have my CRJ AP panel all set up in AAO but for the DC-6 I’d just like those 2 things there but I’m not good enough to figure it out by myself.
                  Last edited by Moridin; 13Sep2021, 07:52.
                  Sincerely,

                  Wojtek Pietrusiewicz

                  Comment


                    #10
                    Originally posted by Moridin View Post

                    Have I got a story to tell. I’ll try to get it written up tomorrow. Happened to my 3rd DC-6 flight. Over the Alps!

                    Thanks, Prop Axis w/o numbers worked correctly!

                    I do have a question about the Bravo…

                    Would it be possible via Axis And Ohs to twist the left knob to CRS and use the right knob to adjust the OBS? I’d also like to use e.g. IAS on the left knob to control the Gyro Pilot trim with the right knob (left for nose down, right for nose up). I have my CRJ AP panel all set up in AAO but for the DC-6 I’d just like those 2 things there but I’m not good enough to figure it out by myself.

                    Sincerely,

                    Wojtek Pietrusiewicz
                    For the Axis and Ohs check the post that had been made some time ago https://forum.pmdg.com/forum/main-fo...9-axis-und-ohs
                    I am not familiar with that program so I can not comment on what you can or can't
                    Chris Makris (Olympic260)
                    PMDG Technical Support
                    http://www.pmdg.com

                    Comment


                      #11
                      Wojtek,

                      it is possible.

                      you would choose the sim event you want to happen and set it to the RIGHT knob which can be turned 360deg. Then you map a combination to the left knob. AAO recognizes this correctly. If you need some advice how exactly to do that the AAO manual on the weebly website (google „weebly axis and ohs“) is very comprehensive. If you need further help just ask, I and others here can assist with assignments too up to a certain degree.
                      i7-6700k, GTX 1080TI, 32GB DDR4 RAM @2666MHz, 4k
                      Marc Ehnle

                      Comment


                        #12
                        Originally posted by cmakris View Post

                        For the Axis and Ohs check the post that had been made some time ago https://forum.pmdg.com/forum/main-fo...9-axis-und-ohs
                        I am not familiar with that program so I can not comment on what you can or can't
                        Ooh fantastic. Can’t believe Google didn’t find this thread. Will try to implement it today, thank you.
                        Last edited by Moridin; 13Sep2021, 07:51. Reason: Signature not showing
                        Sincerely,

                        Wojtek Pietrusiewicz

                        Comment


                        • Ephedrin
                          Ephedrin commented
                          Editing a comment
                          The signature doesn’t show when you post but does once you reload the page.

                        #13

                        Untitled.jpg
                        Thank you cmakris Ephedrin - working perfectly!
                        Sincerely,

                        Wojtek Pietrusiewicz

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X