Announcement

Collapse

PMDG Forum Rules

1) SIGN YOUR POSTS. Since 1997, we have asked users to sign their real name, first and last, to all posts in the PMDG forum. We do this in order to keep conversations personal and familiar. You took the time to be here, we want to get to know you. This is one of the few rigid rules that we enforce regularly. We do so because we feel that forums in which users must engage one another personally are generally warmer, more collegial and friendly. Posts that are unsigned will be quietly removed without comment by the moderators, so to make your life easy- we recommend enabling your forum signature so that you never need to remember. Do this by clicking the username pull-down at the top right, then selecting "User Settings." You will find the signature editor on the ACCOUNT tab, about half way down the page. Look for "Edit Post Signature." Be sure to click the "Show Signatures" box.

2) BE NICE. We are all simmers here and no matter our differences of opinion, we share a common love of aviation, computing and simulation. Treat everyone else in the forum with respect even when you disagree. If someone frustrates you, walk away from the conversation or ask for a moderator to get involved. Speaking of Moderators, they prefer not to be treated as "The Thought Police" but if any behavior infringes on the enjoyment of another user or is otherwise considered to be unacceptable in the moderator's judgment, it will be addressed in keeping with our view of ensuring that this forum remains a healthy environment for all simmers.

3) BE LAWFUL: Any behavior that infringes upon the law, such as discussion or solicitation of piracy, threats, intimidation or abuse will be handled unsympathetically by the moderators. Threats and intimidation may, at the moderator's discretion, be provided to law enforcement for handling.

4) BE FACTUAL: When you post, always be factual. Moderators will remove posts that are determined not to be factually accurate.

5) RESPECT COPYRIGHTS: Posting of copyrighted material such as flight manuals owned by Boeing or various airlines is not allowed in this forum. If you have questions related to copyrighted material, please contact a forum moderator for clarification.

6) RESPECT PMDG: We love to hear what you like about our products. We also like to hear what you think can be improved, or what isn't working. Please do tell us and we will always treat your feedback with value. Just be sure to treat the team respectfully, as they do put a significant amount of effort into building and maintaining these great simulation products for you.

7) RESPECT PMDG DEVELOPERS: All of the developers will spend some time here. Given the ratio of developers-to-users, it simply isn't possible for us to answer every post and private message individually. Please know that we do try to read everything, but developer workload is simply too high to manage personal contact with tens-of-thousands of users simultaneously. In most cases, members of the development team will stick to conversations in the forum and will not answer private messages.

8) RESPECT OTHER DEVELOPERS: PMDG has always advocated for a strong development community and we have many friends within this community. Every developer offers something unique that helps to make the simming community larger and more vibrant. We insist that you treat our friends respectfully.

9) RESPECT MODERATORS: Moderators have a tough job, and none of them enjoy having to stomp out negativity. If a moderator has to weigh in to keep a thread peaceful, please respect that effort and refrain from giving the moderator any grief.

10) If you require official support for any of our products please open a support ticket through the support portal, https://support.precisionmanuals.com

11) This forum is designed primarily as a vehicle for the PMDG development team to interact with our customers, and for customers to interact with one another in a manner that is positive, supportive and assists in the general advancement of understanding the simulation and helping to make this and future simulations better. Any other use of this forum is not permitted, including but not limited to discussion of pricing policies, business practices, forum moderating policies, advertising of non-PMDG products, promotion of events, services or products that are not approved in advance by PMDG or any other topic deemed unacceptable by any forum administrator

12) HAVE FUN: This is the whole point of it all.
See more
See less

DC6 wishlist

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    #31
    Joystick asignments for gyro pilot left/right and reset to middle pos. So that you dont have to look down when flying on Gyro pilot.

    Already opened a ticket for this, but I dont know if anyone considers adding this.
    Klaus Schmitzer

    Comment


    • mats0916
      mats0916 commented
      Editing a comment
      If you have a ticket it's in the log for fixes and features. Don't expect personal calls for updates on the issue though...

    #32
    I'd like to see support for 5.1 surround sound. I want to hear those big engines sitting behind me.

    Comment


    • FrontSideBus
      FrontSideBus commented
      Editing a comment
      That would be awesome, especially in my custom setup!

    #33
    How about making the VORDME display a little larger to avoid need to zoom in from normal cockpit view to read it?

    thanks
    Last edited by JohnCook; 02Jul2021, 08:13.
    John Cook

    Comment


      #34
      Thanks for reformatting the ACE! Now, I'd love a Climb and a Go Around setting for him. I missed an approach after a ten hour flight (Paris to Dakar event) and had no idea how to apply power/flaps.
      Jon Sleeper

      Comment


        #35
        I would like to add the following:

        EFB
        • Possibility to choose cruise profile (1000, 1100 or 1200 BHP) for AFE
        Virtual cockpit
        • A pre-defined cockpit view for circuit breaker panel
        Anders Högqvist
        AMD Ryzen 5 3600 (4.0 GHz), Asus TUF Gaming X570-PLUS, 32 GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16, Asus RTX 2070 Super 8GB ROG STRIX

        Comment


          #36
          I made my own custom view for the circuit breaker panel. I only use my own custom views (set with Ctrl+Alt+1..2..3... and used with Alt+1..2..3...).

          My custom views are pretty basic:
          1 - Center pedestal top looking down
          2 - Center pedestal aft face
          3 - Radios/Cowls/Lights and HiLo Blower switches
          4 - Lower upper panel
          5 - Upper panel
          6 - iPad
          7 - Circuit Breakers
          8 - Port Side Window
          9 - Starboard Side Window
          0 - Main Panel View (includes view of two of the gear lights)
          Dan Downs KCRP
          i7-10700K 32GB 3600MHz 2080Ti

          Comment


            #37
            Not that I know if this list reach the developers, but I would like to add one more thing:

            - Discreet LVar:s
            I thought I'd managed to assign the switches on my Bravo to engage and disengage the gyro pilot and altitude hold as well as one button for each gyro pilot mode. I had them mapped to the LVars, even those that have three LVars for the same button. But even though the controls in the cockpit move they don't really engage. So I hade to go back to using the rotor brake with arguments, but since those aren't discreet one have to make aure that every hardware button is in the correct position before each flight.

            Edit: Alternatively it would be great if the left click/right click interaction (the PMDG variant as it's called in the manual) worked for all switches and levers. The gyro pilot and alt hold engage switches don't have that logic, but if they did the rotor brake assignment would work just fine since one can choose between right and left click in the argument.
            Last edited by andhog; 14Aug2021, 19:25.
            Anders Högqvist
            AMD Ryzen 5 3600 (4.0 GHz), Asus TUF Gaming X570-PLUS, 32 GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16, Asus RTX 2070 Super 8GB ROG STRIX

            Comment


              #38
              The trick I used with the A/P mode switch to overcome the limitation of not knowing what position it was in was simple. For example to select Gyro I used two 44501 (>K:Rotor_Brake) commands, one after the other separated by a space. Thus no matter where it was it is now in the Gyro selection following two left clicks. Same with APPR except I use two right clicks: 44502 (>K:Rotor_Brake) 44502 (>K:Rotor_Brake). LOC was just more of the same except I throw in a left click on the turn knob center button first to prevent unintended electrical disconnects: 95701(>K:Rotor_Brake) 44501 (>K:Rotor_Brake) 44501 (>K:Rotor_Brake) 44502 (>K:Rotor_Brake), or two left clicks followed by one right click and you will always be on LOC.

              I am using right and left mouse clicks on A/P controls no problem. The only exceptions are the iPad screens and the GPS and I don't bother mapping controls to those.

              There are plenty of controls that respond to the Lvar, I believe the ones that do not are those that have been customized, such as the A/P, to provide animation while controlling the stock autopilot functions. For example, cowl flaps work perfect with Lvars 124-127 using enumerated values 0 to 11 but the cowl flaps are all PMDG code and do not use stock airplane functions. In other words, if PMDG did everything outside the box it'd be a better product but at a much longer development time and cost.
              Dan Downs KCRP
              i7-10700K 32GB 3600MHz 2080Ti

              Comment


                #39
                Originally posted by DDowns View Post
                I am using right and left mouse clicks on A/P controls no problem.
                The problem is that the PMDG interaction mode doesn't apply to 2-position switches like the auto gyro on/off and the alt hold switch. As far as I know those switches will flip regardless if you left click, right click or scroll upp or down, making it a bit tricky to assign them to the 2-way switches on the Bravo for instance.
                Anders Högqvist
                AMD Ryzen 5 3600 (4.0 GHz), Asus TUF Gaming X570-PLUS, 32 GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16, Asus RTX 2070 Super 8GB ROG STRIX

                Comment


                  #40
                  Originally posted by andhog View Post

                  The problem is that the PMDG interaction mode doesn't apply to 2-position switches like the auto gyro on/off and the alt hold switch. As far as I know those switches will flip regardless if you left click, right click or scroll up or down, making it a bit tricky to assign them to the 2-way switches on the Bravo for instance.
                  Correct, many two position switches will toggle when clicked (left, right, or rolled with wheel). I'd expect this to be normal and I don't have a problem with two position (1-way) switches. For example, the gust lock is a toggle and I have it assigned to a switch (2 position, 1 way meaning it's on or off), and the action is toggle the switch on/off and gust lock releases, toggle the switch on/off and the bar locks into place. (A two way switch would have three positions: one way, off and the other way).

                  I haven't pursued this because I will stay with PMDG mouse actions, but I wonder what happens when you try to use MSFS mouse actions with the rotor-brake. The MSFS mouse actions are left click only (basically) and it is the hot spot that changes from click up to click down. I'm glad PMDG provided an alternative to the MSFS actions. I haven't looked close at the VC cockpit animations xml file for the MSFS option, but it's worth a look if you want to go that way.
                  Dan Downs KCRP
                  i7-10700K 32GB 3600MHz 2080Ti

                  Comment


                    #41
                    Originally posted by DDowns View Post

                    Correct, many two position switches will toggle when clicked (left, right, or rolled with wheel). I'd expect this to be normal and I don't have a problem with two position (1-way) switches. For example, the gust lock is a toggle and I have it assigned to a switch (2 position, 1 way meaning it's on or off), and the action is toggle the switch on/off and gust lock releases, toggle the switch on/off and the bar locks into place. (A two way switch would have three positions: one way, off and the other way).

                    I haven't pursued this because I will stay with PMDG mouse actions, but I wonder what happens when you try to use MSFS mouse actions with the rotor-brake. The MSFS mouse actions are left click only (basically) and it is the hot spot that changes from click up to click down. I'm glad PMDG provided an alternative to the MSFS actions. I haven't looked close at the VC cockpit animations xml file for the MSFS option, but it's worth a look if you want to go that way.
                    I like the PMDG style and what I was trying to explain was that it would be great if it applied to 2-way switches as well. A left click (or mouse wheel down) to flip it to one way and right click (or mouse wheel up) to flip it the other way. With that it would be easier to map those switches to hardware switches.

                    But I should take a look at the XML files and see if that is possible to achieve. And of course one could use push buttons instead of switches since they don't have discreet positions, but the whole idea of having hardware switches is (at least for me) that you can see what state they are without having to pan around in the virtual cockpit.
                    Anders Högqvist
                    AMD Ryzen 5 3600 (4.0 GHz), Asus TUF Gaming X570-PLUS, 32 GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16, Asus RTX 2070 Super 8GB ROG STRIX

                    Comment


                      #42
                      Originally posted by Major Chris View Post
                      KV10 does several things you asked for and more. You can have Simbrief, Skyvector, Documents, Charts, your web browser and more with no impact to FPS that I have seen. It puts them on top of MSFS so you can resize, move, and interact with each window and it keybinds them to show and hide. Fairly simple.

                      https://flightsim.to/file/9723/kneeboard-viewer-10
                      I just started using KV 10, it’s great, and if I can figure out how to use it…..ANYONE CAN!!!!!!
                      Harry Blaine GouldAcer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 32GB DDR4, 1 TB NVMe SSD

                      Comment


                        #43
                        I just want extra engine settings in the AFE, I'd like to be able to set the AFE to 1100, or 1300 or 1500 or whatever BHP is required depending on the flight plan.
                        Paul Benfield

                        Comment


                          #44
                          Originally posted by DNBOF View Post
                          I would like the tablet to be on a longer mount so I can place it more into the cockpit. Looking left in VR hurts the neck, but looking down or up not so much. Suggest possibly placing it in your virtual lap.
                          Same here.
                          I suppose producing a custom view should also work. BTW I can't see the tablet in the 2D custom views, am I missing something here? I got to go into VR to be able to look at the tablet.
                          René Feijen | MSFS2020 PMDG DC-6 | X52 Pro Hotas | RTX 3090 | I910900K @4.9

                          Comment


                            #45
                            Can appreciate the VR guy's need for the lap tablet, sounds good.

                            But I don't currently use VR, so my tablet wish is for a remote instance on my physical tablet.

                            I use a tablet for ForeFlight, Little Nav Map, SimBrief, Google Maps/Earth, remote Audio/Music management, room lighting control, a bunch of other FS mods I can't even remember right now, and used to use it for remote instrumentation (will probably start that up again), so give us the AFE on a webpage or app plz, thx.

                            Particularly for us older eyes, having virtual tablets on a flat screen isn't nearly as useful/readable as a physical tablet in our laps or attached to a yoke.
                            Fred Douglas

                            Comment


                              #46
                              Originally posted by [email protected] View Post

                              Same here.
                              I suppose producing a custom view should also work. BTW I can't see the tablet in the 2D custom views, am I missing something here? I got to go into VR to be able to look at the tablet.
                              Why not? I've always had a custom view of the iPad. All I've done is pan and zoom for a good view of it and press Ctrl+Alt+6... and you don't have use use 6 since any available number from 0-9 will work. Press Alt+6 for the view.
                              Dan Downs KCRP
                              i7-10700K 32GB 3600MHz 2080Ti

                              Comment


                                #47
                                Here is a link to my wish: United's New Look - DC-6, United Airlines 40520 HD - YouTube I doubt that this will be incorporated, but one can dream of radar.

                                dc-6_cockpit.jpg
                                Chris Hague, KSYR "Flying GPS Free since 1987"
                                Ryzen 7 3700x, 32 GB DDR4 3600 mhz, RTX 2060 OC 6 GB GDDR6 MSFS DC-6, P3Dv5 737 NGXu

                                Comment


                                  #48
                                  A dirtier/worn out looking flightdeck. It just looks too clean for my liking.

                                  The ability for the wipers to interact with the water drops hitting the windshield, I'm not sure if this is an issue with the sim itself, but it would be great to have actual working wipers.

                                  Since SU5 introduced some effects - lots of smoke from engine start to the exhaust fumes in the air from the engines.
                                  Ciarán Andrews

                                  Comment


                                    #49
                                    I would like the following options for the AFE:

                                    - Set climb power (so when your in cruise and want to climb again you can have him set clim power)
                                    - go around

                                    thanks for considering
                                    Georg Müller

                                    Comment


                                      #50
                                      Hello. Make your landing lights brighter. When taxiing at night, the taxiway is very difficult to see.
                                      Igor Krutskikh

                                      Comment


                                        #51
                                        Originally posted by iArbuzny View Post
                                        Hello. Make your landing lights brighter. When taxiing at night, the taxiway is very difficult to see.
                                        What taxi lights? The DC6 does not have taxi lights. The Landing lights that are used for taxi are taking power from the generators, these are not providing enought power to have the lights in full illumination on the RPM used for taxi. This is how the real plane works as well
                                        Chris Makris (Olympic260)
                                        PMDG Technical Support
                                        http://www.pmdg.com

                                        Comment


                                          #52
                                          Originally posted by cmakris View Post

                                          What taxi lights? The DC6 does not have taxi lights. The Landing lights that are used for taxi are taking power from the generators, these are not providing enought power to have the lights in full illumination on the RPM used for taxi. This is how the real plane works as well

                                          I understand you, thank you for your answer!
                                          Igor Krutskikh

                                          Comment


                                            #53
                                            Another vote for a climb power setting in the AFE.
                                            Mark J Jones.

                                            Comment


                                              #54
                                              PMS50 GTN650 integration and a climb power setting for the AFE are my top wishes.
                                              Been using and testing PMSs GTN since it's first beta release and recently purchased the GTN 750/650 premium expansion and find the instruments current feature to be well above that of the default GPSes and therefore a handy tool to have around.
                                              Joseph Taylor

                                              Comment


                                                #55
                                                I tried to browse through this thread, but at least didn't notice this suggestion:

                                                "Ghost" throttle position when using AFE. It would be nice to have a toggle to view my current controller settings as a transparent "ghost" throttles in order to sync them to what the AFE has set. This would eliminate sudden jumps when disabling AFE, for example when switching from cruise to climb enroute.
                                                Mikko Vilenius

                                                Comment


                                                  #56
                                                  It seems that a lot of problems mentioned would be solved by not using the AFE. It really is not that bad once you do it a few times.
                                                  I watched Clumsy's youtube video when he went no AFE. I probably have not used "him" in over 20 flights and my engines still start and run ok.
                                                  Granted, I have a thrustmaster airbus split throttle that allows me to control the engines and prop lever which greatly helps.
                                                  Give it a shot, if you liked the plane using the AFE, you will double that when you do it all yourself.

                                                  Lance Gomes
                                                  Lance Gomes

                                                  Comment

                                                  Working...
                                                  X