Announcement

Collapse

PMDG Forum Rules

1) SIGN YOUR POSTS. Since 1997, we have asked users to sign their real name, first and last, to all posts in the PMDG forum. We do this in order to keep conversations personal and familiar. You took the time to be here, we want to get to know you. This is one of the few rigid rules that we enforce regularly. We do so because we feel that forums in which users must engage one another personally are generally warmer, more collegial and friendly. Posts that are unsigned will be quietly removed without comment by the moderators, so to make your life easy- we recommend enabling your forum signature so that you never need to remember. Do this by clicking the username pull-down at the top right, then selecting "User Settings." You will find the signature editor on the ACCOUNT tab, about half way down the page. Look for "Edit Post Signature." Be sure to click the "Show Signatures" box.

2) BE NICE. We are all simmers here and no matter our differences of opinion, we share a common love of aviation, computing and simulation. Treat everyone else in the forum with respect even when you disagree. If someone frustrates you, walk away from the conversation or ask for a moderator to get involved. Speaking of Moderators, they prefer not to be treated as "The Thought Police" but if any behavior infringes on the enjoyment of another user or is otherwise considered to be unacceptable in the moderator's judgment, it will be addressed in keeping with our view of ensuring that this forum remains a healthy environment for all simmers.

3) BE LAWFUL: Any behavior that infringes upon the law, such as discussion or solicitation of piracy, threats, intimidation or abuse will be handled unsympathetically by the moderators. Threats and intimidation may, at the moderator's discretion, be provided to law enforcement for handling.

4) BE FACTUAL: When you post, always be factual. Moderators will remove posts that are determined not to be factually accurate.

5) RESPECT COPYRIGHTS: Posting of copyrighted material such as flight manuals owned by Boeing or various airlines is not allowed in this forum. If you have questions related to copyrighted material, please contact a forum moderator for clarification.

6) RESPECT PMDG: We love to hear what you like about our products. We also like to hear what you think can be improved, or what isn't working. Please do tell us and we will always treat your feedback with value. Just be sure to treat the team respectfully, as they do put a significant amount of effort into building and maintaining these great simulation products for you.

7) RESPECT PMDG DEVELOPERS: All of the developers will spend some time here. Given the ratio of developers-to-users, it simply isn't possible for us to answer every post and private message individually. Please know that we do try to read everything, but developer workload is simply too high to manage personal contact with tens-of-thousands of users simultaneously. In most cases, members of the development team will stick to conversations in the forum and will not answer private messages.

8) RESPECT OTHER DEVELOPERS: PMDG has always advocated for a strong development community and we have many friends within this community. Every developer offers something unique that helps to make the simming community larger and more vibrant. We insist that you treat our friends respectfully.

9) RESPECT MODERATORS: Moderators have a tough job, and none of them enjoy having to stomp out negativity. If a moderator has to weigh in to keep a thread peaceful, please respect that effort and refrain from giving the moderator any grief.

10) If you require official support for any of our products please open a support ticket through the support portal, https://support.precisionmanuals.com

11) This forum is designed primarily as a vehicle for the PMDG development team to interact with our customers, and for customers to interact with one another in a manner that is positive, supportive and assists in the general advancement of understanding the simulation and helping to make this and future simulations better. Any other use of this forum is not permitted, including but not limited to discussion of pricing policies, business practices, forum moderating policies, advertising of non-PMDG products, promotion of events, services or products that are not approved in advance by PMDG or any other topic deemed unacceptable by any forum administrator

12) HAVE FUN: This is the whole point of it all.
See more
See less

P3D4.5 737NGXu Performance issues

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    P3D4.5 737NGXu Performance issues

    Hi, love this plane BUT performance issues in VC and lighting is disappointing.
    External views around 60-70 FPS, VC with any lighting drops dramatically 12-13 sometimes depending of Airport scenery down to 7-8 FPS.
    Very disappointing to nearly impossible to fly.
    Please PMDG do something........
    Thank you,
    georgios

    i7 6700k 4,5 Ghz, 32GB vRam, GTX1080ti, p3d4.5HF2
    Last edited by georgiosgiannoukos; 02Dec2019, 07:54.

    #2
    Hi! do you have the latest update installed?

    Adam Sebesta
    Adam Sebesta

    Comment


      #3
      Mine is running GTX 970, it is not good in fps but not as bad as yours, around 20-25, but after flying sometime and arrive in destination airport in the vc it is quite laggy while approach and taxing. With the fslabs it is fine.

      I know ngxu is requiring more resources than others but changing hardware just for one plane is not a thing everyone can afford.
      Alexis Nguyen

      Comment


        #4
        the video card is not everything.. a lot more important is the system setup. You can have the best crard on the market and have issues if you don't care about your system.

        Georgios,

        what antialiasing setting do you use and what is your screen's resolution? If you run at 1920*1080 use nothing higher than 4x SSAA with that card and the NGXu, if you have a 4k screen 2xMSAA is fully sufficient. This setting makes the biggest difference in performance (beside world graphic sliders)

        Please tell us your P3D setup and if (and what) you have done something with your NVIDIA control panel.A lot of magic is hidden there, I have the "same" system as you and don't see any issues.
        i7-6700k, GTX 1080TI, 32GB DDR4 RAM @2666MHz, 4k
        Marc Ehnle

        Comment


          #5
          Please give details of the "magic" in the Nvidia control panel. Thanks.
          Dick Parker (Joined 2002 not 2019)
          Northeast Ohio USA
          Win 10, RTX 2080 Ti
          P3D V5.1 HF1, ORBX

          Comment


            #6
            Originally posted by drdickie View Post
            Please give details of the "magic" in the Nvidia control panel. Thanks.
            Nothing that will take him from single digit FPS to 30, unless he has SSAA or something turned on globally.

            OP, please screenshot your graphics settings in P3D and post them.
            Alex Pugh

            Comment


              #7
              Hello again, Nvidia control panel settings default except two changes I’ve made,
              1. OpenGL rendering GPU , Have GeForce GTX 1080TI
              2. power management mode, Prefer maximum performance

              P3D Settings: Settings:
              In P3D Resolution is set to 3840x2160x32
              In Windows Display settings resolution is as Recommended 3840 x 2160
              Same in Nvidia Control Panel 4K x 2K, 3840 x 2160 (native)
              Have a 4K TV
              FXAA : ON
              AA : 4xSSAA
              Vsync OFF Trible Buffering Unticked
              Trget frame rate Unlimited
              Scenery Objects: Very Dense, High, Very Dense, Normal
              Water Detail Medium
              Special Effects detail and distance HIGH
              Use High Resolution Terrain textures is TICKED

              PS Let me notice that using MSAA I get flickering and blurriest which is unbelievable very unrealistic.
              objects shaking, yellow taxi markings and so.

              Hope I help with all I write

              Any ideas?
              Georgios
              Last edited by georgiosgiannoukos; 02Dec2019, 21:35.

              Comment


                #8
                It’s the 4x SSAA. You’ll have to use MSAA at night with lots of DL. Not sure I’ve ever seen the flickering and blurring you’re talking about with MSAA, sorry.
                Alex Pugh

                Comment


                  #9
                  I just saw my worst 737NGXu performance today. I was at KLGA, night plus snow. GSX weather live, FSDT KLGA scenery and I had 8 fps!!! Normally I get 30+ on the 737 in NYC with 60 fps on default scenery. I flew to Albany, NY KALB and landed with 18 fps on default scenery. I loaded my QW787 and have 70 fps! I do think night flying on the 737 takes a huge hit. I never fly at night so this was an eye opener for me. I switch back tothe 737 at KALB and change to day and now I see 45 + fps

                  7700k CPU, Titan X video card OC 5 GHz
                  Last edited by Paulyg123; 03Dec2019, 00:01.
                  Paul Gugliotta

                  Comment


                    #10
                    Agree with u, as soon as I use lighting even during the day, gets huge FPS drop.

                    Comment


                      #11
                      Originally posted by Paulyg123 View Post
                      I was at KLGA, night plus snow. GSX weather live, FSDT KLGA scenery
                      FSDreamteam has an LGA scenery now? I know they have JFK. The only LGA sceneries I know of are ImagineSim and Drzewiecki.
                      Captain Kevin

                      Kevin Yang

                      Comment


                        #12
                        Gents you a high end power hungry aircraft there so if you want decent fps you got to turn down those scenery sliders in the sim.
                        Danny Z.Cebis

                        Comment


                          #13
                          I have Special effects off, 2XMSAA, FXAA=off

                          Snow at Anchorage with these birds 747-8/737ngxu will hit badly at night here. but better after latest Aerosoft PANC update

                          No snow and its controllable. Might be do to FSFX in combo with shaders, dynamic lights . I live with it

                          Michael Moe
                          VSYNC = On /25HZ 4k
                          [email protected],6 1080TI,16GB DDR3-2400

                          Comment


                            #14
                            This is totally weird.I have more or less the same specifications as the OP and absolutely don't see this. And I also don't see Paul's issues. However I DO have a massive hit on the performance if I use the cockpit flood lights, while the cockpit is hit by some addon airport's DL. Not everywhere though.

                            georgiosgiannoukos

                            Your P3D setup is chosen very high, by all means.

                            FXAA has a history of strange effects and undesired behaviour, it's counterproductive in P3D and I don't know why they have included it. I would turn it off.

                            AA 4xSSAA is your performance killer, absolutely. and additional to that it is totally useless, if you fly on 4k. 2xMSAA is sufficient, max 4xMSAA. This WILL increase your performance. If MSAA causes blurries and flickers then something else is influencing badly. Without having it checked now I would guess and point at FXAA. (and check if mipmaps off helps.)

                            Triple buffering should be TICKED, Vsync only if you choose to try to limit your FPS to your screens frequency. My 4k TV is set to 60Hz and so did I set my P3D internal limiter, Vsync activated. Unlimited FPS won't give you better performance unless you have stable high frames anyway and still enough resources to load scenery and effects in the background while flying.

                            Next up the scenery complexity can easily be set to very dense but the 2 density sliders can kill your frames too. If you use ORBX FTX Global, Vector and/or Open LC this should set no higher than normal, I personally find sparse fully sufficient flying airliners. I like to land in nice scenery but counting trees from 38000ft is hard work.

                            On the lighting page have a look at the shadow cast and receive options. I found the 3 top lines checked to be fully sufficient, everything else killed my performance. Clouds even gave me terrible scenery flickering in Austria Professional.

                            Weather: Cloud draw distance is set to 60 miles in my sim and this matches my setting in Actiove Sky.. Also, if you use this addon, make sure you have a maximum cloud layes of 2 or 3, everything higher is nice to look at but again will make your frames suffer.



                            Use High Resolution Terrain textures is TICKED
                            -
                            If you have ORBX Global this is not necessary, but I don't know if it has any impact.

                            NVIDIA Control Panel:

                            Using the custom settings set to Prepar3d I use following settings, but I also still play and experiment with it:

                            Antialiasing Mode - Enhance the application setting (has a noticable effect for me without P3D having to care about higher settings)
                            Antialiasing Transparence - Multisample
                            CUDA - GPUs - All (no idea honestly, I try to find any differences)
                            Power management - prefer max perf
                            texture filtering Anisotropic sample opt - On
                            texture filtering Negative LOD bias - I still try to find the better setting but I THINK Clamp is better. Not sure though.
                            texture filtering Quality - High perf
                            texture filtering Trilinear opt - on
                            Triple buffering - Off here (checked on in P3D but you can try what happens if you swap or double this setting)
                            Vertical buffering - adaptive (Very dependend on your TV screen. But I believe this requires it to be turned on in P3D as well.)

                            everything else is left to application controlled or global setting as it was.


                            Most important after all: make sure your drivers are up to date. I recommend a tool called driver booster.(It's also recommended by avsim) It's free (though they always try to sell it to you) and shows you any outdated drivers. It can also update them if you wish.

                            And now something I discovered on MY system: I am german and hence I had a german version of Win10. When I got my first FS2Crew addon I had to activate the english speech recognizion and mistakenly switched my whole computer over to english (US). I would have never thought about that possibility, but this reduced the P3D stutters tremendously. I have NO idea why. It's actually just a way to display windows..

                            I hope you can find some helpful advice here.
                            Last edited by Ephedrin; 03Dec2019, 11:19.
                            i7-6700k, GTX 1080TI, 32GB DDR4 RAM @2666MHz, 4k
                            Marc Ehnle

                            Comment


                              #15
                              And if you have ORBX Vector you can deactivate some of the options there. I found unticking tertiary roads give me better performance.
                              i7-6700k, GTX 1080TI, 32GB DDR4 RAM @2666MHz, 4k
                              Marc Ehnle

                              Comment


                                #16
                                Originally posted by Ephedrin View Post
                                Next up the scenery complexity can easily be set to very dense but the 2 density sliders can kill your frames too. If you use ORBX FTX Global, Vector and/or Open LC this should set no higher than normal, I personally find sparse fully sufficient flying airliners.
                                Also depends on what scenery you're using. With some add-on scenery, setting it to sparse means you get no jetways.
                                Captain Kevin

                                Kevin Yang

                                Comment


                                • Ephedrin
                                  Ephedrin commented
                                  Editing a comment
                                  DENSITY?! Aren‘t they part of the complexity slider?

                                #17
                                Originally posted by Captain Kevin View Post
                                FSDreamteam has an LGA scenery now? I know they have JFK. The only LGA sceneries I know of are ImagineSim and Drzewiecki.
                                Oops , I meant Imaginesim for KLGA. BTW, KLGA just added Terminal G and the Imaginesim KLGA gates are way off. I wish someone would update KLGA.

                                I will check my settings per Ephedrin and see if that helps. Remember, flying at day and any airport, with sliders pretty much maxed out, I get great performance. Only the 737 at night kills me. No big issue - I'll fly during the day only.



                                Paul Gugliotta

                                Comment


                                  #18
                                  I agree with the above sentiments. When utilizing cockpit lighting I instantly experience a significant drop in frame rates regardless of flying in day or night environments. I hope PMDG offers an option to disable DL in the cockpit.
                                  Gabe Pfeiffer

                                  Comment


                                    #19
                                    I've just done my first flight in the NGXu, Rome Fiumicino to Copenhagen. Settings are medium-ish. Take-off was in daylight by going north, it was getting dark on arrival. FPS were by then disappointing. If you sit in a dark cockpit and turn the AFDS Flood on and off, I can see 5 average FPS going on and off too, which is enough to make a difference.

                                    Comment


                                      #20
                                      Hi,

                                      i notice a big difference in FPS just switching off all the cabin lights so i confirm what Greycap says.
                                      This should me quite easy to fix i think.

                                      Claudio Damiani

                                      Comment


                                        #21
                                        Use High Resolution Terrain textures is TICKED
                                        Agree lose this one fast.
                                        Charles Harris KRTS The Valley of Speed
                                        ASUS ROG Strix B450-F, Ryzen 3700X, 1TB 970 Neo M2,1TB SSD, RX 5700XT 8GB, 32GB DDR4 3200

                                        Comment


                                          #22
                                          Honestly the aircraft was great on first release but in every fix/patch the frames just keep dropping. I think it is tied to the flight bag. I noticed if you hold and drag any chart around the efb screen my frames just go to single digits. But if you scroll or zoom in and out it's fine. Anyways FS2020 just round the corner.
                                          Peter Walsh.

                                          Comment


                                            #23
                                            Originally posted by VBHB View Post
                                            Honestly the aircraft was great on first release but in every fix/patch the frames just keep dropping. I think it is tied to the flight bag. I noticed if you hold and drag any chart around the efb screen my frames just go to single digits. But if you scroll or zoom in and out it's fine. Anyways FS2020 just round the corner.
                                            The hold and drag fps drop is not new, it also happens in Pmdg 748 EFB, i think it is something PmDg can't do better, but it is not an issue cuz as soon as you release the mouse, fps is back to normal
                                            Alexis Nguyen

                                            Comment


                                              #24
                                              Hi Snowfalcon,

                                              what do you mean with your last post :


                                              Use High Resolution Terrain textures is TICKED
                                              Agree lose this one fast.

                                              Comment


                                                #25
                                                I might get laughed out of the forums for this one, but I'll post it anyway as it drastically helped my frames. I was wayyyy behind in updating my P3D content (v4.3 was my last) so much that I had the black leading edges and cowls... well it fixed that now being PBR compliant, but it also massively increased my frames (I talking 15-20FPS). If your behind update, it really helped me.



                                                Paul Meade
                                                Last edited by E190ATTCS; 16Dec2019, 22:59.
                                                Paul Meade

                                                Comment


                                                • Ephedrin
                                                  Ephedrin commented
                                                  Editing a comment
                                                  I saw this increased performance when I updated from 4.3 to 4.4. so yep, a lot was done then.

                                                #26
                                                Originally posted by E190ATTCS View Post
                                                I might get laughed out of the forums for this one, but I'll post it anyway as it drastically helped my frames. I was wayyyy behind in updating my P3D content (v4.3 was my last) so much that I had the black leading edges and cowls... well it fixed that now being PBR compliant, but it also massively increased my frames (I talking 15-20FPS). If your behind update, it really helped me.
                                                Pretty sure the 737 installer won't even let you install it unless you have at least 4.4.
                                                Captain Kevin

                                                Kevin Yang

                                                Comment


                                                  #27
                                                  Uncheck that setting.
                                                  Charles Harris KRTS The Valley of Speed
                                                  ASUS ROG Strix B450-F, Ryzen 3700X, 1TB 970 Neo M2,1TB SSD, RX 5700XT 8GB, 32GB DDR4 3200

                                                  Comment


                                                    #28
                                                    Originally posted by Captain Kevin View Post
                                                    Pretty sure the 737 installer won't even let you install it unless you have at least 4.4.
                                                    Content... not Client. My client was 4.5 content was 4.3


                                                    Paul Meade
                                                    Last edited by E190ATTCS; 17Dec2019, 13:54.
                                                    Paul Meade

                                                    Comment


                                                      #29
                                                      Also noticed fps drop turning on Terrain Radar.

                                                      Jose De Campos
                                                      Joe De Campos
                                                      London

                                                      Comment


                                                        #30
                                                        Originally posted by decampos View Post
                                                        Also noticed fps drop turning on Terrain Radar.

                                                        Jose De Campos
                                                        Terrain Radar? What is that? The radar in this aircraft is only a weather radar, no terrain mapping. The terrain display is from DEM database.
                                                        Dan Downs KCRP
                                                        i7-10700K 32GB 3600MHz 2080Ti

                                                        Comment

                                                        Working...
                                                        X