Announcement

Collapse

PMDG Forum Rules

1) SIGN YOUR POSTS. Since 1997, we have asked users to sign their real name, first and last, to all posts in the PMDG forum. We do this in order to keep conversations personal and familiar. You took the time to be here, we want to get to know you. This is one of the few rigid rules that we enforce regularly. We do so because we feel that forums in which users must engage one another personally are generally warmer, more collegial and friendly. Posts that are unsigned will be quietly removed without comment by the moderators, so to make your life easy- we recommend enabling your forum signature so that you never need to remember. Do this by clicking the username pull-down at the top right, then selecting "User Settings." You will find the signature editor on the ACCOUNT tab, about half way down the page. Look for "Edit Post Signature." Be sure to click the "Show Signatures" box.

2) BE NICE. We are all simmers here and no matter our differences of opinion, we share a common love of aviation, computing and simulation. Treat everyone else in the forum with respect even when you disagree. If someone frustrates you, walk away from the conversation or ask for a moderator to get involved. Speaking of Moderators, they prefer not to be treated as "The Thought Police" but if any behavior infringes on the enjoyment of another user or is otherwise considered to be unacceptable in the moderator's judgment, it will be addressed in keeping with our view of ensuring that this forum remains a healthy environment for all simmers.

3) BE LAWFUL: Any behavior that infringes upon the law, such as discussion or solicitation of piracy, threats, intimidation or abuse will be handled unsympathetically by the moderators. Threats and intimidation may, at the moderator's discretion, be provided to law enforcement for handling.

4) BE FACTUAL: When you post, always be factual. Moderators will remove posts that are determined not to be factually accurate.

5) RESPECT COPYRIGHTS: Posting of copyrighted material such as flight manuals owned by Boeing or various airlines is not allowed in this forum. If you have questions related to copyrighted material, please contact a forum moderator for clarification.

6) RESPECT PMDG: We love to hear what you like about our products. We also like to hear what you think can be improved, or what isn't working. Please do tell us and we will always treat your feedback with value. Just be sure to treat the team respectfully, as they do put a significant amount of effort into building and maintaining these great simulation products for you.

7) RESPECT PMDG DEVELOPERS: All of the developers will spend some time here. Given the ratio of developers-to-users, it simply isn't possible for us to answer every post and private message individually. Please know that we do try to read everything, but developer workload is simply too high to manage personal contact with tens-of-thousands of users simultaneously. In most cases, members of the development team will stick to conversations in the forum and will not answer private messages.

8) RESPECT OTHER DEVELOPERS: PMDG has always advocated for a strong development community and we have many friends within this community. Every developer offers something unique that helps to make the simming community larger and more vibrant. We insist that you treat our friends respectfully.

9) RESPECT MODERATORS: Moderators have a tough job, and none of them enjoy having to stomp out negativity. If a moderator has to weigh in to keep a thread peaceful, please respect that effort and refrain from giving the moderator any grief.

10) If you require official support for any of our products please open a support ticket through the support portal, https://support.precisionmanuals.com

11) This forum is designed primarily as a vehicle for the PMDG development team to interact with our customers, and for customers to interact with one another in a manner that is positive, supportive and assists in the general advancement of understanding the simulation and helping to make this and future simulations better. Any other use of this forum is not permitted, including but not limited to discussion of pricing policies, business practices, forum moderating policies, advertising of non-PMDG products, promotion of events, services or products that are not approved in advance by PMDG or any other topic deemed unacceptable by any forum administrator

12) HAVE FUN: This is the whole point of it all.
See more
See less

NO BRAKES NEED HELP

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    NO BRAKES NEED HELP

    Hi Guys, never had this issue before....I started my sim, choose 737, all good, taxiing, once I landed my brakes are not working at all, couldn't stop. I have brakes assigned thru FSUIPC, in P3D under controls I have enabled brakes under button 1 for my joystick X52 and "on realease not ticked on" For years all worked perfectly and now it stopped. I restored defaults several times but same thing again. Strange...any idea what might be? I found some threads dating 2011 and they are not useful to me.
    Also when I apply parking brake, pressing button 1 they get disconnected.
    Thanks
    Last edited by Rwy23; 19Apr2019, 19:59.
    Alexander Luzajic
    Northwest Airlines

    #2
    I am confused. Are brakes (button) assigned in FSUIPC or in P3D Controls? If you don't have pedals and only a button then why not eliminate FSUIPC. It isn't needed, just assign the button to the brake action in controls and set a midway repeat value.
    Dan Downs KCRP

    Comment


      #3
      Originally posted by DDowns View Post
      I am confused. Are brakes (button) assigned in FSUIPC or in P3D Controls? If you don't have pedals and only a button then why not eliminate FSUIPC. It isn't needed, just assign the button to the brake action in controls and set a midway repeat value.
      Well, ever since I set up everything I had it this way and all was good. Other planes work ok and even PMDG worked till today, as a matter a fact, on departure all good and on landing no, go figure. I restarted several times my sim, installed latest FSUIPC and still don't see nothing happening when I press Button 1 on my Joystick. Don't see my brakes moving down. Yes buttons are all in FSUIPC, and they are all profile specific...777, 737, 320, etc....in the sim I see brakes assigned to my joystick. And only PMDG brakes not working....

      Now how do I eliminate FSUIPC braking?
      Thanks
      Alexander Luzajic
      Northwest Airlines

      Comment


      • DDowns
        DDowns commented
        Editing a comment
        Just assign the button in the P3D Controls UI for keyboard. Select Brakes, click Assign New and then press the button you want to assign. Did I understand your question?

      #4
      In P3D I have assigned them as a "button 1" as always, red text message appears at the bottom, but plane doesn't brake....That's as simple as I can put...and suddenly today (!).
      Thanks for trying to help
      Alexander Luzajic
      Northwest Airlines

      Comment


        #5
        This should be correct? brakes.png
        Alexander Luzajic
        Northwest Airlines

        Comment


          #6
          What about FSUIPC, you said you also have the brakes assigned there too? It is never good to have one control assigned twice.
          Dan Downs KCRP

          Comment


            #7
            Originally posted by DDowns View Post
            What about FSUIPC, you said you also have the brakes assigned there too? It is never good to have one control assigned twice.
            I do but that wasn't the problem so far.....Not sure how to delete from FSUIPC
            Cockpit is CLD nad Drk, I know that I need pressure in the breaks now, but when I move all my axis they all work except brake doesn't go down....
            Last edited by Rwy23; 19Apr2019, 22:07.
            Alexander Luzajic
            Northwest Airlines

            Comment


              #8
              I loss the brakes a while back and I corrected it by creating a new scenario using a PMDG default aircraft and loaded the cold and dark panel.
              Bode Bridges

              Beta Tester XM-22/26 TOW

              Comment


                #9
                Originally posted by Rwy23 View Post
                Other planes work ok and even PMDG worked till today, as a matter a fact,
                Any time you see stuff like this, it's a good indication that it isn't the plane. We haven't updated the NGX in literal years, so if there is a change in behavior, the cause won't be the plane.

                Move the FSUIPC.ini out of the <sim>\modules folder temporarily. If it solves the problem, it's a problem with your setup in P3D/FSUIPC (you may also want to double check your assignments in P3D, particularly if you've updated to 4.5 recently). If it doesn't solve the problem, then you can move the original .ini back into the modules folder to get your previous FSUIPC settings back.
                Kyle Rodgers
                PMDG Simulations

                Comment


                  #10
                  While I guess that Kyle is correct with FSUIPC I had this once... I‘d landed at a certain ORBX airport which had an oil treated runway by the developers. I‘m not sure why and it seems they‘ve changed that in a later update, but I simply couldn‘t stop. The airplane wasn‘t PMDG though.
                  Marc Ehnle

                  Comment


                    #11
                    Have you looked into the Failures page? It is possible that the brakes have failed (happen to me )
                    Lucian Vasile - LKPR

                    Comment


                      #12
                      Using latest w10, P3Dv4.5, latest PMDG 848i.
                      I am now having the same problem. Lucian, did you resolve?
                      Renamed FSUIPC.ini to FSUIPC.ini.bak and restarted. No remedy.
                      Options - Calibration - Calibrate CH Pro pedals USB shows X, Y and Z axes moving as expected.
                      Yet no braking action.
                      Help?
                      Cheers, Richard

                      Comment


                        #13
                        Originally posted by RichardMcDonaldWoods View Post
                        Using latest w10, P3Dv4.5, latest PMDG 848i.
                        Options - Calibration - Calibrate CH Pro pedals USB shows X, Y and Z axes moving as expected.
                        Yet no braking action.
                        Help?
                        I'm confused as well. Are you calibrating your pedals in P3D? I think your X, Y and Z are left, right brake and yaw axis? No braking action in the NGX at all, not even taxi?
                        Dan Downs KCRP

                        Comment


                          #14
                          Hi Dan,
                          Under P3Dv4.5 in my PMDG 748i I choose Options>Controls>Calibration and choosing controller CH PRO PEDALS USB.
                          My axis sensitivities are each set at 64 and null zones to 5.
                          I press Calibrate Device. On moving my pedals the range pointers move as expected.
                          The X Axis correctly shows my left brake range from zero to 245.
                          The Y Axis correctly shows my right brake range from zero to 245.
                          The Z Axis correctly shows my centered value moving to the extreme left and right as expected.
                          I then press Save.
                          Steering with the pedals remains active.
                          Still no braking action in the aircraft.
                          I must be failing to do something basic.
                          Cheers, Richard

                          Comment


                          • DDowns
                            DDowns commented
                            Editing a comment
                            Check the REV block for brake axis

                          • RichardMcDonaldWoods
                            Editing a comment
                            Both the REVERSE boxes are checked for the X and Y axes in the Axis Assignments panel. Un-checking them has no effect on braking.

                          #15
                          While moving the rudder and brakes, what about the animation within the VC Cockpit? Do you see pedals moving? Does parking brake work? Confirm you have brake hydraulic pressure.
                          Dan Downs KCRP

                          Comment


                          • RichardMcDonaldWoods
                            Editing a comment
                            Animations in VC are present as normal. Pedals are moving appropriately.
                            Parking brake holds aircraft stationary with increasing thrusts.
                            Hydraulics synoptic shows quantities around 100, pressures in each at 3000, and temperatures around 32 from each engine. All overhead demand pumps set to auto.

                          #16
                          Check the brake accumulator pressure indicator, verify the brake source indicator is not lit.

                          What about other aircraft?
                          Dan Downs KCRP

                          Comment


                          • RichardMcDonaldWoods
                            Editing a comment
                            The brake accumulator pressure indicator reads a constant 3100 PSI (in the blue band).
                            Brake source indicator ??? (to the left of the Hyd Brake Pressure) is not lit.
                            No other working aircraft at present.
                            Off to bed!
                            Last edited by RichardMcDonaldWoods; 21Jun2019, 20:26.

                          #17
                          No other working aircraft at present?? Hmm, does this mean the brakes do not work in other aircraft or you have no other aircraft to load into P3D? I implied that you might try another aircraft to see if brake problem exists in other aircraft or if this is uniquely a B748 problem.
                          Dan Downs KCRP

                          Comment


                            #18
                            Dan,
                            I have now spent several hours checking/rechecking everything that I can think of and still no brakes.
                            I have got my PMDG 77W going again as well. Neither plane has any braking action, so I assume that the problem lies within the P3Dv4.5 Options set.
                            I have CH Pro pedals and Saitek x52 Pro controls.
                            My current P3D Options settings that might effect braking in some way are:
                            - Key assignments - none for braking
                            - Axis assignments - X, Y Axis have Reversed checked, Z Axis has Reversed unchecked
                            - Calibration - X, Y and Z axes set at 0-255 and function correctly
                            - Engines running
                            - Main 1-4 fuel pumps ON
                            - Hydraulic Demand Pumps all Auto
                            - Engine Hydraulic Pumps all ON
                            - Hydraulic brake pressure indicates 3100 psi and indicator light not on
                            - FCTL tests show all functioning correctly
                            - Brake pedals depress OK for turning left/right
                            - Pressing both peddles for braking shows very little movement and no braking action occurs
                            Cheers, Richard

                            Comment


                            • RichardMcDonaldWoods
                              Editing a comment
                              ApologiesI have just realised that this is the B737 forum. I had assumed (wrongly!) that I was posting in the 747 forum.

                            • RichardMcDonaldWoods
                              Editing a comment
                              I have now opened a ticket with my information. Better than having further discussions in the wrong forum, I hope.

                            #19
                            We'd certainly help via a ticket, but from what I'm reading above, this seems to affect all aircraft in the sim, so this doesn't seem like a PMDG problem.

                            Using FSUIPC at all? By "at all" I mean even down to simply having it installed. Additionally, be sure that you have properly set up your hardware. Most hardware needs the toe brakes reversed (a check box in P3D).
                            Kyle Rodgers
                            PMDG Simulations

                            Comment


                              #20
                              Problem solved by loading the original PMDG scenario rather than my own. So not sure where the problem lay.
                              Cheers, Richard

                              Comment


                                #21
                                I had the brake failure yesterday in the B744. The brakes worked on taxi out and the autobrakes appeared to work on landing but as I slowed to turn off the runway, no brakes. The brake light shows when I press the brakes on my rudder pedals and the pedals in the cockpit move downward when the brakes are pressed. I even checked the hydraulic brake pressure gauge which shows pressure. It was fixed by reloading a default PMDG scenario and cold and dark panel. Not a deal breaker, but it happens enough to just be an occasional annoyance.
                                Bode Bridges

                                Beta Tester XM-22/26 TOW

                                Comment


                                  #22
                                  I just found a possible solution. I had the same problem off and on. Turns out P3D (and probably FSX) failed the brakes internally. It had nothing to do with the aircraft itself. In the P3D or FSX menu, go to Aircraft, Failures, hit Reset All and the brakes should work again.
                                  Ryan Gamurot

                                  Comment


                                    #23
                                    Hi Ryan,
                                    I am glad that it worked for you. I had tried that solution but it did not work for me.
                                    I believe that my saved scenario had somehow become corrupt and that starting again from a standard cold-and-dark solved my case. So none the wiser.
                                    Cheers, Richard

                                    Comment

                                    Working...
                                    X