Announcement

Collapse

PMDG Forum Rules

1) SIGN YOUR POSTS. Since 1997, we have asked users to sign their real name, first and last, to all posts in the PMDG forum. We do this in order to keep conversations personal and familiar. You took the time to be here, we want to get to know you. This is one of the few rigid rules that we enforce regularly. We do so because we feel that forums in which users must engage one another personally are generally warmer, more collegial and friendly. Posts that are unsigned will be quietly removed without comment by the moderators, so to make your life easy- we recommend enabling your forum signature so that you never need to remember. Do this by clicking the username pull-down at the top right, then selecting "User Settings." You will find the signature editor on the ACCOUNT tab, about half way down the page. Look for "Edit Post Signature." Be sure to click the "Show Signatures" box.

2) BE NICE. We are all simmers here and no matter our differences of opinion, we share a common love of aviation, computing and simulation. Treat everyone else in the forum with respect even when you disagree. If someone frustrates you, walk away from the conversation or ask for a moderator to get involved. Speaking of Moderators, they prefer not to be treated as "The Thought Police" but if any behavior infringes on the enjoyment of another user or is otherwise considered to be unacceptable in the moderator's judgment, it will be addressed in keeping with our view of ensuring that this forum remains a healthy environment for all simmers.

3) BE LAWFUL: Any behavior that infringes upon the law, such as discussion or solicitation of piracy, threats, intimidation or abuse will be handled unsympathetically by the moderators. Threats and intimidation may, at the moderator's discretion, be provided to law enforcement for handling.

4) BE FACTUAL: When you post, always be factual. Moderators will remove posts that are determined not to be factually accurate.

5) RESPECT COPYRIGHTS: Posting of copyrighted material such as flight manuals owned by Boeing or various airlines is not allowed in this forum. If you have questions related to copyrighted material, please contact a forum moderator for clarification.

6) RESPECT PMDG: We love to hear what you like about our products. We also like to hear what you think can be improved, or what isn't working. Please do tell us and we will always treat your feedback with value. Just be sure to treat the team respectfully, as they do put a significant amount of effort into building and maintaining these great simulation products for you.

7) RESPECT PMDG DEVELOPERS: All of the developers will spend some time here. Given the ratio of developers-to-users, it simply isn't possible for us to answer every post and private message individually. Please know that we do try to read everything, but developer workload is simply too high to manage personal contact with tens-of-thousands of users simultaneously. In most cases, members of the development team will stick to conversations in the forum and will not answer private messages.

8) RESPECT OTHER DEVELOPERS: PMDG has always advocated for a strong development community and we have many friends within this community. Every developer offers something unique that helps to make the simming community larger and more vibrant. We insist that you treat our friends respectfully.

9) RESPECT MODERATORS: Moderators have a tough job, and none of them enjoy having to stomp out negativity. If a moderator has to weigh in to keep a thread peaceful, please respect that effort and refrain from giving the moderator any grief.

10) If you require official support for any of our products please open a support ticket through the support portal, https://support.precisionmanuals.com

11) This forum is designed primarily as a vehicle for the PMDG development team to interact with our customers, and for customers to interact with one another in a manner that is positive, supportive and assists in the general advancement of understanding the simulation and helping to make this and future simulations better. Any other use of this forum is not permitted, including but not limited to discussion of pricing policies, business practices, forum moderating policies, advertising of non-PMDG products, promotion of events, services or products that are not approved in advance by PMDG or any other topic deemed unacceptable by any forum administrator

12) HAVE FUN: This is the whole point of it all.
See more
See less

ASOBO WORLD UPDATES

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    ASOBO WORLD UPDATES

    Just to let people know who might miss it, as well as the new world update released yesterday, Asobo have pretty much released updates to all the previous world updates too.
    So make a coffee and download them all when you have time.
    All are listed in your 'Content Manager' in the sim.

    EDIT:

    As there are also updates to the core sim too in this latest batch, first flight of the 737 will take much longer to load as it did the first time you installed it.
    Not tried it yet, but I suspect it will then load in the normal time thereafter as before.

    Also if you get a 'Partial' load on any of the updates, close MS2020, restart and try again.
    Mine was stuck on the Nordic update saying it was only partially updated, restarted MS2020 and tried again, and then updated ok.

    Now we can all look forward to '737 is broken since the last update from Asobo' posts...

    Happy flying.
    Last edited by Steve M; 15Jun2022, 12:13.
    Steve Mel

    #2
    I have the suspicion that this updated spoiled something performance-wise on my system. Getting severe stutters where everything was rather smooth before.I cant be sure the update is the culprit though. But just in case, anybody else noticed that ?
    Manolo Ruiz Carrió

    Comment


      #3
      Originally posted by Sekkha View Post
      I have the suspicion that this updated spoiled something performance-wise on my system. Getting severe stutters where everything was rather smooth before.I cant be sure the update is the culprit though. But just in case, anybody else noticed that ?
      Try deleting the rolling cache, I have read it helped some people. If this does not help, try disabling photogrammetry to see if it helps
      Chris Makris (Olympic260)
      PMDG Technical Support
      http://www.pmdg.com

      Comment


        #4
        Originally posted by cmakris View Post

        Try deleting the rolling cache, I have read it helped some people. If this does not help, try disabling photogrammetry to see if it helps
        and often the content.xml file. It will rebuild when the sim is started the next time.

        C:\Users\name\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.Fli ghtSimulator_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache
        Ryzen 9 5900X, RX 6900XT, 32GB DDR4 RAM @3600MHz, 4k
        Marc Eland
        GFO Beta

        Comment


          #5
          I had my first two crashes in months last night after the World Update. First, just trying to select a parking spot at the new Catalina Airport form the world map caused a CTD. Then later, after restarting, I was sitting in the 737 cockpit entering data into the CDU for a flight from a different airport, and the sim froze solid - cockpit sound continued to play but the entire sim was frozen. I had to use the Windows Task Manager to quit the sim. I gave up at that point.
          Herb Schaltegger - Father, husband, lawyer, engineer & getting too old for this $#!t. Do Not Taunt Happy Fun Ball!TM.

          Comment


            #6
            Yeah no joke it took like 10 minutes just to spawn on a runway in Honolulu. I was getting really ticked off. But after that every load after regardless of aircraft was fast or shall I say back to normal.
            Peter Lucas

            Comment


            • sergio8234
              sergio8234 commented
              Editing a comment
              That is normal, whenever there is a update on the sim side of PMDG side, the sim tends to want to rebuild the aircraft causing it to take longer to load

            #7
            Well, it is a new version of the sim. It stands to reason that it would recompile the aircrafts. For myself I have noticed some lvar that doesn’t work anymore.
            Stefan Mars

            Comment


              #8
              No problems here- MSFS update took about 10 minutes, and of course had the initial delay when first loading the 737, but its flying great and no issues I have seen yet...
              Jon Richardson
              USAF Vet
              PPL

              Comment


                #9
                Originally posted by cmakris View Post

                Try deleting the rolling cache, I have read it helped some people. If this does not help, try disabling photogrammetry to see if it helps
                Thanks for that Chris, deleting the rolling cache seems to have solved the issue. I have still a lot to learn about this new platform...

                best regards
                Manolo Ruiz Carrió

                Comment


                  #10
                  Originally posted by Ephedrin View Post

                  and often the content.xml file. It will rebuild when the sim is started the next time.

                  C:\Users\name\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.Fli ghtSimulator_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache
                  Thanks Marc, good to know as well !
                  Manolo Ruiz Carrió

                  Comment


                    #11
                    Originally posted by Voidstar View Post
                    Well, it is a new version of the sim. It stands to reason that it would recompile the aircrafts. For myself I have noticed some lvar that doesn’t work anymore.
                    For a Sim update yes, but for a World update I wouldn't think so.
                    Peter Lucas

                    Comment


                      #12
                      Originally posted by Rev2010 View Post

                      For a Sim update yes, but for a World update I wouldn't think so.
                      Almost every substantial update to the sim content since August 2020 has involved at least a small update to the core sim launcher (updated through the MS Store/Steam) and then updated packages inside the sim itself (when the “Checking for updates” screen appears).
                      Herb Schaltegger - Father, husband, lawyer, engineer & getting too old for this $#!t. Do Not Taunt Happy Fun Ball!TM.

                      Comment


                        #13
                        Originally posted by Steve M View Post
                        Now we can all look forward to '737 is broken since the last update from Asobo' posts...
                        BBBBBBBBut-bbbbbbbbbbbut-bbbbbbbbbbbut, what about all the wonderful amazing scenery updates???? Quite frankly, I'm willing to accept all my add-ons and controller assignments being completely borked with every update from Assholbo so I can fly over some canyon that sports a new bridge across it. Progress must be made at the expense of moving backwards!



                        Steve Atkins
                        Steve Atkins

                        Comment


                          #14
                          Originally posted by Rev2010 View Post

                          For a Sim update yes, but for a World update I wouldn't think so.
                          Perhaps, but I rather doubt the sim is that intelligent. I am guessing that it only checks its version-number and the date of files, notices that it has changed and decides not to trust its previous compiled data. But I don’t work at Asobo so I don’t know for certain, it is just a guess that I believe make sense.
                          Stefan Mars

                          Comment


                            #15
                            Yeah I wouldn't count on it I had two CTDs with PMDG 3 with Fenix and one with Hjet.
                            Aleks Matrosov

                            Comment


                              #16
                              Had my first CTD to day in the 737 700, on approach to LSZH... bang gone............ Really pleases you when you have flown for hours only to crash at the best part.

                              Clive Rose

                              Comment


                              • Want2BFlyin
                                Want2BFlyin commented
                                Editing a comment
                                Having a flight get wasted because the sim gave up on you is not at all new to MSFS. Managing the RAM used by previous versions of simulators was sometimes a challenge. Get up to 4 gigs of RAM in use, and your flight was pretty much done. Prepar3d 4 resolved that by switching to a 64-bit application, but even that wasn't perfect. If you were flying a flight westbound over the North Atlantic in P3D, you were almost guaranteed to have the simulator CTD between Greenland and the Canadian coast.

                                A few years back I was trying to do a flight from Manchester to Singapore. That is a 12-13 hour flight. The first three attempts all resulted in the simulator freezing somewhere over Eastern Europe, forcing me to shut it down with the Task Manager. The next two attempts both ended with a CTD as I was turning onto the final approach for Singapore. It was a huge relief when I was finally able to complete that flight (what can I say, I'm stubborn).

                                It's never a pleasant experience, but I doubt there are many experienced sim pilots who are truly surprised when it happens.

                              • Car147
                                Car147 commented
                                Editing a comment
                                I have 32gb of ram, and no issues prior to the WU.

                                Clive Rose

                              #17
                              CTD during the takeoff roll at KATL....gone. Was super frustrating having gone through everything from Cold and Dark. Not as bad as on landing but still a drag.
                              Mark Chernis

                              Comment


                                #18
                                Yeap I'm happily back in Xplane while PMDG team is readying pitch forks and some milk and cookies to go visit Asobo HQ. . Every single time without a fail
                                Aleks Matrosov

                                Comment


                                  #19
                                  Well, despite my unhappy experiences yesterday, the sim has been nice and stable for me. I made two short-haul flights today in vastly different regions without issue. First, a flight from KBUR to KLAS (with the FlyTampa custom Las Vegas scenery installed). Second, I made a flight from KATL to KBNA. No problems with either one, knock on wood. In each case, I followed my usual practice of spawning in on the airport at a gate or ramp, with GPU connected and powering the bus (which is the basic default). Entered all data in the FMC, loaded the plane, started up and flew the route, unloaded the plane via ground services.

                                  In between, I spawned into a gate at KLGA and then used the drone cam to fly around the greater NYC area to see if the Samscene3D New York and RKBridgers NYC Bridges packages were working okay with the new WU10 data, and they all appear to be just fine. I didn't actually make a flight out of LaGuardia, however. But again, the sim was nice and stable.
                                  Herb Schaltegger - Father, husband, lawyer, engineer & getting too old for this $#!t. Do Not Taunt Happy Fun Ball!TM.

                                  Comment


                                    #20
                                    Guess you lucked out this time. It CTDs for me with every single plane I fly always half way thru the flight.
                                    Aleks Matrosov

                                    Comment


                                      #21
                                      I have done the update as always. Disabled every Addon that I have. Emptied the Community Folder completely. Made the update, made all other small updates that where there. Cleared the rolling cache, although I don’t even use it. Closed the sim. Moved everything back from Backupfolder to Community Folder. Opened the Sim, cleared cache again, closed the sim. Added my other Addons, started the sim, cleared the cache, closed the sim. Started again, fired up the 737, waited some 15-20 Minutes until she was on a Gate at FACT. Made a Flightplan via Simbrief, loaded the Plan, started off course from cold and dark and went on a beautiful Evening Flight to FAPE. First Nightlanding with full Autoland. Smooth Flight without difficulty’s. Every thing worked as supposed, no studders, no CTD nothing. Do I have a NASA Computer? No, just poor i5 with 8 GB Ram and GeForce Vid Card. I guess it is more important then ever to follow some rules while updating. Before I forget, I fly in Ultra Settings with Live Weather but no traffic.
                                      Last edited by Bob; 16Jun2022, 09:21.
                                      __________________________________________________ ________

                                      Uwe Bestmann

                                      Comment


                                        #22
                                        Hi, Bob glad it worked for you.
                                        However, it seems a massive overkill to me especially clearing cache like that. You did it 3 times! And you say you don't even use it!
                                        And as you had not even started a flight what would have even been in it anyway?..That is if you even used it in the first place!

                                        'Whatever floats your boat' as the saying goes, but I would be prepared for the comments I think you are going to get, as I think that is the most convoluted way of updating I have ever read.
                                        Still I am glad it worked for you, I mean it. But to me all that seems like a major waste of time.

                                        Of course, you and others will now chime in that it worked, well ok, but that does not negate the fact that there is no proof any of it was necessary.
                                        Now, both of us, wait for it...
                                        Steve Mel

                                        Comment


                                          #23
                                          IDK.. All I did was to clear the rolling cache, update, and fly. 3rd flight of the day and no problems.

                                          Comment


                                            #24
                                            As some others I had also loads of CTD's after latest World Update. Didn't really matter what plane but most of the time it crashed already before actually departing.

                                            What I did was doing a clean install of the nvidia drivers, doesn't make much sense but I've the feeling the crashes have something to do with the DirectX cache (which gets refreshed after driver change).

                                            There's also an easy way to clean out the cache by just running the default 'Disk Cleanup' tool from Windows, make sure it's selected and press ok.

                                            By no means I think this is a solution to all problems but at least it's an easy thing to try. I tried a lot before like reducing loaded addon's, putting a backup of the older MSFS appdata content in place, don't use rolling cache etc but just finished a smooth flight after really struggle for 2 days with not a single succeeded flight.

                                            Oscar Rottink

                                            Comment

                                            Working...
                                            X