Announcement

Collapse

PMDG Forum Rules

1) SIGN YOUR POSTS. Since 1997, we have asked users to sign their real name, first and last, to all posts in the PMDG forum. We do this in order to keep conversations personal and familiar. You took the time to be here, we want to get to know you. This is one of the few rigid rules that we enforce regularly. We do so because we feel that forums in which users must engage one another personally are generally warmer, more collegial and friendly. Posts that are unsigned will be quietly removed without comment by the moderators, so to make your life easy- we recommend enabling your forum signature so that you never need to remember. Do this by clicking the username pull-down at the top right, then selecting "User Settings." You will find the signature editor on the ACCOUNT tab, about half way down the page. Look for "Edit Post Signature." Be sure to click the "Show Signatures" box.

2) BE NICE. We are all simmers here and no matter our differences of opinion, we share a common love of aviation, computing and simulation. Treat everyone else in the forum with respect even when you disagree. If someone frustrates you, walk away from the conversation or ask for a moderator to get involved. Speaking of Moderators, they prefer not to be treated as "The Thought Police" but if any behavior infringes on the enjoyment of another user or is otherwise considered to be unacceptable in the moderator's judgment, it will be addressed in keeping with our view of ensuring that this forum remains a healthy environment for all simmers.

3) BE LAWFUL: Any behavior that infringes upon the law, such as discussion or solicitation of piracy, threats, intimidation or abuse will be handled unsympathetically by the moderators. Threats and intimidation may, at the moderator's discretion, be provided to law enforcement for handling.

4) BE FACTUAL: When you post, always be factual. Moderators will remove posts that are determined not to be factually accurate.

5) RESPECT COPYRIGHTS: Posting of copyrighted material such as flight manuals owned by Boeing or various airlines is not allowed in this forum. If you have questions related to copyrighted material, please contact a forum moderator for clarification.

6) RESPECT PMDG: We love to hear what you like about our products. We also like to hear what you think can be improved, or what isn't working. Please do tell us and we will always treat your feedback with value. Just be sure to treat the team respectfully, as they do put a significant amount of effort into building and maintaining these great simulation products for you.

7) RESPECT PMDG DEVELOPERS: All of the developers will spend some time here. Given the ratio of developers-to-users, it simply isn't possible for us to answer every post and private message individually. Please know that we do try to read everything, but developer workload is simply too high to manage personal contact with tens-of-thousands of users simultaneously. In most cases, members of the development team will stick to conversations in the forum and will not answer private messages.

8) RESPECT OTHER DEVELOPERS: PMDG has always advocated for a strong development community and we have many friends within this community. Every developer offers something unique that helps to make the simming community larger and more vibrant. We insist that you treat our friends respectfully.

9) RESPECT MODERATORS: Moderators have a tough job, and none of them enjoy having to stomp out negativity. If a moderator has to weigh in to keep a thread peaceful, please respect that effort and refrain from giving the moderator any grief.

10) If you require official support for any of our products please open a support ticket through the support portal, https://support.precisionmanuals.com

11) This forum is designed primarily as a vehicle for the PMDG development team to interact with our customers, and for customers to interact with one another in a manner that is positive, supportive and assists in the general advancement of understanding the simulation and helping to make this and future simulations better. Any other use of this forum is not permitted, including but not limited to discussion of pricing policies, business practices, forum moderating policies, advertising of non-PMDG products, promotion of events, services or products that are not approved in advance by PMDG or any other topic deemed unacceptable by any forum administrator

12) HAVE FUN: This is the whole point of it all.
See more
See less

Airplane freeze

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Airplane freeze

    Hi all,

    everyone ever had the problem of a complete aircraft freeze? What I mean by that is that the sim is still working, the airplane flies and everything is moving (so no crash). However at some point during my manual step climb the plane froze and i just could close the sim...

    Don't really know what triggered it, i loaded a simbrief route into the FMC and this aside, i've done nothing special..

    greetings
    Phil

    #2
    I just had this exact issue, I was taking off from BNA on my second leg so I was already running the sim for about an hour and a half at that point, and while I was climbing everything froze, the aircraft was still flying but everything in the cockpit froze and I couldn't manipulate any controls. I waited for about 10 minutes to see if it would fix itself and nothing happened so I just closed the sim and gave up. I entered my route manually for this flight so it probably doesn't have anything to do with you loading it from simbrief.

    Comment


    • FlyVFR
      FlyVFR commented
      Editing a comment
      My experience exactly. I was at the top of a step climb after 2 hours of flight.

    #3
    ok glad to see that i am not the only victim of this issue. Never had it before the latest world update (Italy Malta).

    To be honest, I am not flying this aircraft again now because of this issue. This can ruin a 3 - 4 hours flight i planed for the weekend.

    Comment


      #4
      Got the same issue. The PMDG 737 is disappointing me a bit. Flying to Zurich, holding at GIPOL, told to exit the hold, when i pressed Exit Hold, the CDU got frozen, nothing was working anymore, autopilot disconnected without any alarm, the aircraft started leveling down. Weird!!!

      Comment


        #5
        It didn't freeze that badly for me but I get 10-20 second freezes all the time. Doesn't look to be scenery, I don't have anything custom installed.
        Aleks Matrosov

        Comment


          #6
          me neither. I just have some airports and the PMDG 737...

          Comment


            #7
            Hello,

            J'ai également se problème pendant les vols.
            Le simulator fonctionne mais impossible de bouger les caméras, FMC, etc. J'(ai également remarque que cela se produit sur EFB ou Avlasoft pour ceux qui l'utilise
            Sur un vols de 2 à 3 hrs, ca modifie le temps de vol pouvant aller jusqu'à 5 à 10 min , si les frezz sont mis bout à bout.

            Bref un pti bug, qui me rassure également un peu, Je suis pas le seul
            Quelqu'un aurait la solution ?

            Bon vol

            Comment


              #8
              Yes, I had this same thing happen to me on a number of occasions during the course of the tutorial flight I did last night. Aside from the disruption to flow, it's quite alarming as it's the kind of pause/freeze which typically precedes a CTD. Thankfully, for me, on each occassion after 10-15sec, the sim came back to life.

              Curious that this only seems to have become an issue from last night. Could it be to do with WU9 perhaps, which launched yesterday? Whether directly related to that, or as a result of the increase in activity hitting the servers perhaps?


              Alex Berry
              Dunfermline, Scotland

              Ryzen 5900X, 32GB, 3080Ti FE, Win10

              Comment


                #9
                Yes AlexJBerry I had the same thought, because the sim was loading ~600mb during the launch of MSFS2020 and then ingame the World Update. Maybe something happened during the 600mb ?!

                Anyway, I will not touch the 737 anytime soon, because this is too unstable to waste the little time I have for this hobby.

                Comment


                  #10
                  O meu congela quando mexo muito no fmc. Estava em uma descida quando fui confirgurar um HOLD, depois ao mexer de novo para alterar o HOLD ele congelou e só fechando o sim. Triste.

                  Comment


                    #11
                    Originally posted by allexsaraujo View Post
                    O meu congela quando mexo muito no fmc. Estava em uma descida quando fui confirgurar um HOLD, depois ao mexer de novo para alterar o HOLD ele congelou e só fechando o sim. Triste.
                    Google Translate: "Mine freezes when I move the fmc a lot. I was on a descent when I went to configure a HOLD, then when I moved again to change the HOLD it froze and only closing the sim. Sad."

                    Yeh, this was definitely part of it - it seems to happen when moving around a lot, like it's catching up.

                    Another suggestion I've heard is if you have an autosave feature working in the background, like Volanta for instance - this can introduce long pauses/freezes with various explanations from complexity of the autosave itself, to interactions with any antivirus software. Again, might be worth a look.


                    Alex Berry
                    Dunfermline, Scotland

                    Ryzen 5900X, 32GB, 3080Ti FE, Win10

                    Comment


                      #12
                      Yeah, I don't have Volanta....

                      Comment


                        #13
                        Happened on 2 flights with me- only flight controls that continued to work were pitch and roll- everything else was inoperative...I submitted a ticket for it today..
                        Jon Richardson
                        USAF Vet
                        PPL

                        Comment


                          #14
                          Same issue. I created a hold at PPOS which it didn't follow and kept flying straight so I wanted to create another hold after exiting the current one. As soon as I pressed exit and before I could execute it, all avionics and systems just froze on me. Sim is working fine, plane is moving and I can steer it but it's just like a dead thing flying. This particular incidence left a bad taste in my mouth since I used to think of it as a very predictable, robust and bug-free addon. Could it be a livery issue by any chance since I was using this livery for the first time?
                          Last edited by Chriz7388; 20May2022, 18:04.

                          Comment


                            #15
                            I had this happen on one of my first attempts to fly the 737. That said, I have numerous other aircraft, scenery, and utility add-ons. So I assumed maybe something else caused the issue, and cleared out a few less used items.

                            in the couple of times I have been able to fly since, I did not experience this again. Was it an add-on, a bug, something else? Hard to say…. But I felt I should throw my hat into the “I’ve seen this too” category.
                            Jason Kitch

                            Comment


                              #16
                              I just had this exact issue.

                              Comment


                                #17
                                I was in a hold, selected exit hold and execute. After that the same thing happened to me, VC frozen, yet the sim is still running. I had to exit the sim and start over.

                                Josh Polege

                                Comment


                                  #18
                                  On a Flight from San Diego to Dallas, and MSFS just froze on me, while trying to remove waypoints near Love Field (otherwise it be quite banky)

                                  4:44 PM, force closed it...


                                  does freezing happen on long flights?
                                  Last edited by Lodkins; 25May2022, 00:59.
                                  John Lodkins

                                  Comment


                                    #19
                                    Page #28 of the manual is suggesting a specific key be assigned to "pause on", and a separate key binding for "pause off"
                                    Alternatively, you can shut that option off so the sim does not pause itself automatically at toc or tod. Explanation starts on page # 73, and specifically on page# 77.
                                    Hope that helps. Worked for me, but you may have a different problem.

                                    Dave HIlderman

                                    Comment


                                    • FlyVFR
                                      FlyVFR commented
                                      Editing a comment
                                      Thanks for the suggestion. I read the manual cover to cover and implemented their suggestions. The freeze happened after leveling out after a 2k foot step climb.

                                    #20
                                    This happened to me last night upon exiting a HOLD pattern.
                                    Max Halberstrand
                                    KFJK

                                    Comment


                                      #21
                                      As it's clearly a PMDG 737 issue, i think we have to wait for a fix from PMDG. Lets hope that the upcoming update will bring more stability. I love the Fenix A320, but I also love the 737.. Would be nice to fly both of them.

                                      Comment


                                        #22
                                        Happened to me today. In decent into LAX passing 7000 slowing to 220Kts, no VNav/LNav, Heading & VSpeed. Switching views between FMC, PFD, MCP for adjustments. It froze the sim. Could hear engines. No animation's visible anywhere inside the cockpit or outside. Escape key didn't even work. (Have the pause keys setup as per manual) FSIPC7 only internal connector.
                                        Rod Stagner

                                        Comment


                                          #23
                                          Just had the sim totally freeze on me when entering a WP into the 737-700 FMC in flight enroute from FACT to FAOR. It wasn't a CTD as the sim kept running for a few minutes until I shut it down via task manager.
                                          Gary Dunne YSCB

                                          Comment


                                            #24
                                            For me that happened too. I was on a flight from LZIB to EBCI. I was on final for EBCI runway 24, doing a manual landing with the ILS during bad weather and set the HUD to Aiii Arm mode. When at around 500ft AGL the Aiii flashed in the HUD twice and then everything in the cockpit froze. All displays, indicators, even the switches didn't work anymore. But the plane was flying and my joystick axises worked, but no buttons/switches. I was only able to use the three primary flight axises and the throttle.

                                            So I tried to continue until minimums; they came and I saw the runway to the right of me - going around. But with no indications within clouds I never knew if I am climbing, descending or maybe rolling to the left? Also I didn't knew the speed, so I set toga power and let the airplane fly itself, hoping the approach trim for VRef would do it. In Singleplayer I would have to quit the flight, but luckily I was on IVAO network and an experienced controller guided me. I climbed above the clouds (around FL100) and atc gave me "start turn/stop turn" instructions to an airport with better visibility. (EBLG) There I was able to land and stop savely on the runway. Yeah, that was some adrenalin rush and happiness in the end. I wished I had at least a speed indication...
                                            Sebastian Hepp

                                            Comment


                                              #25
                                              Ok, I am not a crazy person. Mine has been freezing at a specific action. this after updating to latest build. Requesting a flight plan. I can still hear the background sounds but nothing is clickable. The only way out is task master, quit process. I have downloaded the airplane from my account, but the result is the same. I know this is going to be deemed my problem since others seem to be operating just fine. At a loss however.

                                              Rob Roberson
                                              Rotorcraft-Helicopter
                                              SEL-MEL Airplane Instrument

                                              Comment


                                                #26
                                                Originally posted by sebihepp View Post
                                                For me that happened too. I was on a flight from LZIB to EBCI. I was on final for EBCI runway 24, doing a manual landing with the ILS during bad weather and set the HUD to Aiii Arm mode. When at around 500ft AGL the Aiii flashed in the HUD twice and then everything in the cockpit froze. All displays, indicators, even the switches didn't work anymore. But the plane was flying and my joystick axises worked, but no buttons/switches. I was only able to use the three primary flight axises and the throttle.
                                                This just happened to me on approach to KMSP. I do not use the HUD though. On approach, the cockpit froze. The sim was still going and the plane was still moving. The joystick control was still working along with the throttle so I was able to land. I could no longer interact with the cockpit though and all displays were frozen. Since the joystick/throttle lever worked, I could taxi to a parking area, but no way to shut the plane down, turn off lights etc.. Outside of the cockpit being frozen, the sim was running smoothly. I looked CPU and GPU and both were below 50% percent and at normal temps so all was well. I could switch to outside view and the strobes were strobing and engines turning it was just inside that the cockpit displays and interaction was frozen.

                                                Regards,

                                                Bob Quick

                                                Comment


                                                  #27
                                                  Originally posted by rquick View Post

                                                  This just happened to me on approach to KMSP. I do not use the HUD though. On approach, the cockpit froze. The sim was still going and the plane was still moving. The joystick control was still working along with the throttle so I was able to land. I could no longer interact with the cockpit though and all displays were frozen. Since the joystick/throttle lever worked, I could taxi to a parking area, but no way to shut the plane down, turn off lights etc.. Outside of the cockpit being frozen, the sim was running smoothly. I looked CPU and GPU and both were below 50% percent and at normal temps so all was well. I could switch to outside view and the strobes were strobing and engines turning it was just inside that the cockpit displays and interaction was frozen.
                                                  Same, on LAND3 to KPHX from CYYZ. First time happened to me w/Air Canada livery from the OPs center
                                                  Chris Alevritis-KPHX

                                                  Comment


                                                    #28
                                                    I've had this one happening twice in my rather short time with the 737, i e frequently enough for it to be an issue which needs addressing. Both times when working on the CDU and then same as everyone else. Aircraft still seems to be working, processing and flying but everything in the virtual cockpit freezes - interactions, animations and displays. The hotspots are still active, i e the cursor cues appear, but upon clicking, scrolling or yodeling (I was desperate, OK?) nothing happens.

                                                    Correction: No, the aircraft 'went dumb', i e still had manual control of throttles and primary control surfaces through peripherals, but no autoflight etc. Strangely seemingly no flaps or spoilers, even though these were also bound to controller axes.

                                                    Restarting the flight reactivated the cockpit, so MSFS wasn't frozen solid. Without knowing the underlying architecture, I'd guess that PMDGs magic and MSFS stopped talking for some reason.

                                                    Not heavy on addons, i e barely anything except planes, Navigraph Charts hooked up and FSUIPC.

                                                    Cheers/Fred Thornell
                                                    Last edited by effte; 11Jun2022, 09:12.
                                                    Fred Thornell

                                                    Comment


                                                      #29
                                                      I haven’t had a single instance of this, nor even of flickering PFDs. I wonder if everyone affected is using something like FSUIPC, Spad, or Axes and Ohs, stuff that interacts with the sim under the skin, so to speak.
                                                      Herb Schaltegger - Father, husband, lawyer, engineer & getting too old for this $#!t. Do Not Taunt Happy Fun Ball!TM.

                                                      Comment


                                                        #30
                                                        Originally posted by DrVenkman View Post
                                                        I haven’t had a single instance of this, nor even of flickering PFDs. I wonder if everyone affected is using something like FSUIPC, Spad, or Axes and Ohs, stuff that interacts with the sim under the skin, so to speak.
                                                        I use Axes and Ohs and have not seen any freezes or flickering PFD (knock on wood)

                                                        Comment

                                                        Working...
                                                        X