Announcement

Collapse

PMDG Forum Rules

1) SIGN YOUR POSTS. Since 1997, we have asked users to sign their real name, first and last, to all posts in the PMDG forum. We do this in order to keep conversations personal and familiar. You took the time to be here, we want to get to know you. This is one of the few rigid rules that we enforce regularly. We do so because we feel that forums in which users must engage one another personally are generally warmer, more collegial and friendly. Posts that are unsigned will be quietly removed without comment by the moderators, so to make your life easy- we recommend enabling your forum signature so that you never need to remember. Do this by clicking the username pull-down at the top right, then selecting "User Settings." You will find the signature editor on the ACCOUNT tab, about half way down the page. Look for "Edit Post Signature." Be sure to click the "Show Signatures" box.

2) BE NICE. We are all simmers here and no matter our differences of opinion, we share a common love of aviation, computing and simulation. Treat everyone else in the forum with respect even when you disagree. If someone frustrates you, walk away from the conversation or ask for a moderator to get involved. Speaking of Moderators, they prefer not to be treated as "The Thought Police" but if any behavior infringes on the enjoyment of another user or is otherwise considered to be unacceptable in the moderator's judgment, it will be addressed in keeping with our view of ensuring that this forum remains a healthy environment for all simmers.

3) BE LAWFUL: Any behavior that infringes upon the law, such as discussion or solicitation of piracy, threats, intimidation or abuse will be handled unsympathetically by the moderators. Threats and intimidation may, at the moderator's discretion, be provided to law enforcement for handling.

4) BE FACTUAL: When you post, always be factual. Moderators will remove posts that are determined not to be factually accurate.

5) RESPECT COPYRIGHTS: Posting of copyrighted material such as flight manuals owned by Boeing or various airlines is not allowed in this forum. If you have questions related to copyrighted material, please contact a forum moderator for clarification.

6) RESPECT PMDG: We love to hear what you like about our products. We also like to hear what you think can be improved, or what isn't working. Please do tell us and we will always treat your feedback with value. Just be sure to treat the team respectfully, as they do put a significant amount of effort into building and maintaining these great simulation products for you.

7) RESPECT PMDG DEVELOPERS: All of the developers will spend some time here. Given the ratio of developers-to-users, it simply isn't possible for us to answer every post and private message individually. Please know that we do try to read everything, but developer workload is simply too high to manage personal contact with tens-of-thousands of users simultaneously. In most cases, members of the development team will stick to conversations in the forum and will not answer private messages.

8) RESPECT OTHER DEVELOPERS: PMDG has always advocated for a strong development community and we have many friends within this community. Every developer offers something unique that helps to make the simming community larger and more vibrant. We insist that you treat our friends respectfully.

9) RESPECT MODERATORS: Moderators have a tough job, and none of them enjoy having to stomp out negativity. If a moderator has to weigh in to keep a thread peaceful, please respect that effort and refrain from giving the moderator any grief.

10) If you require official support for any of our products please open a support ticket through the support portal, https://support.precisionmanuals.com

11) This forum is designed primarily as a vehicle for the PMDG development team to interact with our customers, and for customers to interact with one another in a manner that is positive, supportive and assists in the general advancement of understanding the simulation and helping to make this and future simulations better. Any other use of this forum is not permitted, including but not limited to discussion of pricing policies, business practices, forum moderating policies, advertising of non-PMDG products, promotion of events, services or products that are not approved in advance by PMDG or any other topic deemed unacceptable by any forum administrator

12) HAVE FUN: This is the whole point of it all.
See more
See less

Prepar3D Hotfix for V4.5 Released

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Prepar3D Hotfix for V4.5 Released

    On the P3D website.

    [added May 19] I found on my system that deleting the old prepar3d.cfg file and letting the sim build a new greatly decreased my loading time and seemed to make the hotfix run "smoother." All qualitative info.
    Last edited by drdickie; 19May2019, 14:31.
    Dick Parker (Joined 2002)
    Northeast Ohio USA
    Windows 10, GTX 1080
    Orbx, P3D V4.5.12.30293

    #2
    Flight appears OK with hotfix 1 installed (so far!).
    Cheers, Richard

    Comment


      #3
      Has it actually improved performance I know it said it did on some systems just wondered has it actually helped anyone yet
      Stewart Cumbers

      Comment


        #4
        i just updated the client, as that is where most the fixes were, the rest wasn't super important to me. To me, i did notice a difference. I loaded up in the NGX and MaddogX at KFLL, and other airports and gained at least 10FPS that i noticed. Its also a bit smoother for me.
        Michael Backes
        ----------------------

        Comment


          #5
          After 5 million years of waiting finally it's done. Hopefully they have fixed FPS drops...
          STEFAN ĐORĐEVIĆ

          Comment


            #6
            Over here I have more problem of stuttering with the 747. By cons FPS remain stable (40FPS VC) compared to the old version of P3Dv4.5, all PMDG products work in any case 737,777,747-400 and - 8
            Manuel TRAMARD
            i7 9900k @ 5,0 GHz - 16 Go de RAM - RTX 2080 Ti - SSD M.2 1T

            Comment


              #7
              Here is the hotfix log.

              Prepar3D v4.5 Hotfix

              Client Fixes and Improvements

              Content Fixes and Improvements

              Scenery Fixes and Improvements

              SDK Fixes and Improvements

                • Fixed performance issues seen on some systems and configurations.
                • Fixed issue where the interpolated wind direction value would be invalid in some cases.
                • Added configuration option to toggle UI hardware acceleration mode (UIHardwareAcceleration).
                • Fixed crash when re-enabling Virtual Reality (VR) while using the Oculus headset.
                • Fixed crash that could occur in some cases after a plugin removed its textures from the system.
                • Varjo eye tracking is now supported.
                • Improved performance when using the Varjo headset.
                • Fixed issue where CreateEffect callbacks would not be issued unless both xyz and pbh offsets were present.
                • CIGI ownship ID now set to 0 for versions prior to CIGI 4.0.
                • Fixed error with empty EntityAffiliation tags being written out in saved scenarios.
                • Fixed issue where sound volume could be incorrect when switching between interior and exterior views.
                • Fixed issue where PBR textures could be black in interior views when first entering a vehicle.
                • Fixed incorrect unit conversions for camera eyepoint altitude P variables.
                • Fixed missing PBR texture in F-16A.
                • Removed light scaling from beacon effects.
                • Increased beacon light visibility distance.
                • Fixed an issue where the PBRMaterial’s effectFile property would not be updated during load.
                • Fixed an issue where 3ds Max exports would throw material mismatch errors when P3DMaterial and PBRMaterial were being used in the same scene.
                • Fixed issue with drawing and loading Annotator vegetation polygons.
                • Fixed several minor errors in documentation.

              Thanks again for your support
              Danny Z. Cebis

              Comment


                #8
                Has anybody checked the 737 HUD? - the information on the HUD is blank for me in 4.5.1

                Manual and auto brightness checked.
                Paul Racines
                737-6 thru 9 772LR + 773ER 744 + -8 I LOVE THE MANUALS
                Win 10 64bit | Z97 Pro | i7 4790 4.6GHz | Corsair Hydro Series H80i GT Liquid Cooling | 16GB RAM | GTX 980 | Oculus Rift | 1TB Samsung EVO 850 SSD | 2TB WD Black 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s

                Comment


                  #9
                  Hello
                  After updated to the version 4.5 from Operation Center my 747 looks like this.

                  Any suggestion will be appreciate.

                  Regards
                  Attached Files
                  Pierre Legault

                  Comment


                    #10
                    Originally posted by pile View Post
                    Hello
                    After updated to the version 4.5 from Operation Center my 747 looks like this.

                    Any suggestion will be appreciate.

                    Regards
                    Please add a signature to your profile in order to ensure that your posts are signed, real name first and last.. You were advised/agreed to this requirement when initially establishing an account. Thank you!

                    https://forum.pmdg.com/forum/main-fo...pdated-25feb19

                    Chris Makris (Olympic260)
                    PMDG Technical Support
                    http://www.pmdg.com

                    Comment


                      #11
                      Ok its done and hope its good now.

                      Do you have a tip for my post about the cabin of my pmdg 747?

                      Regards
                      Pierre Legault

                      Comment


                      • DDowns
                        DDowns commented
                        Editing a comment
                        I still don't see your name.

                      #12
                      Originally posted by pile View Post
                      Ok its done and hope its good now.

                      Do you have a tip for my post about the cabin of my pmdg 747?

                      Regards
                      Follow The link.
                      Danny Z. Cebis

                      Comment


                        #13
                        Originally posted by Ausflight View Post

                        Follow The link.
                        I dont see any link
                        Pierre Legault

                        Comment


                          #14
                          Originally posted by pile View Post

                          I dont see any link
                          https://forum.pmdg.com/forum/main-fo...pdated-25feb19
                          Chris Makris (Olympic260)
                          PMDG Technical Support
                          http://www.pmdg.com

                          Comment


                            #15
                            Can you see it now?
                            Danny Z. Cebis

                            Comment


                              #16
                              Originally posted by Ausflight View Post
                              Can you see it now?
                              Yes but not solution for my problem...
                              Pierre Legault

                              Comment


                                #17
                                That is precisely the solution to add a signature that includes your full name.
                                Tim Lincoln

                                Comment


                                  #18
                                  Originally posted by pile View Post

                                  Yes but not solution for my problem...
                                  Please follow the rules. Rule No1 states that you need to have your real name first and last. You keep ignoring it
                                  Chris Makris (Olympic260)
                                  PMDG Technical Support
                                  http://www.pmdg.com

                                  Comment


                                    #19
                                    Ah, so we don’t need to await an update from PMDG for the 744 to work with the latest 4.5 hotfix? Because mine is now no longer loading after installing the Prepar3d update. Looks like I’ll have to submit a ticket.
                                    Flight Sim Guides YouTube Channel
                                    none

                                    Comment


                                    • DDowns
                                      DDowns commented
                                      Editing a comment
                                      I've had at least a dozen sessions since the hotfix with the B744/748 and don't have any problems.

                                    #20
                                    None here either.
                                    Danny Z. Cebis

                                    Comment


                                      #21
                                      I installed the hotfix not because of any problems but because I thought it would be good to have the latest version: I was wrong! I noticed two major differences (at least for me):

                                      1. The exterior lighting has been dimmed too much. The taxi lights no longer provide enough illumniation to see where I'm taxiing. Now I need to use the landing lights and the beam is not as wide as before.

                                      2. I noticed a bit of jitter which did not exist before.

                                      Needless to say, I will be going back to 4.5.11 and hopefully LM will fix this, otherwise night time operations will be a pain.

                                      My advice: If you're not currently having issues do not apply the hotfix.
                                      R. Will Thomas
                                      KMDT - Flight Sim 1998 to Present
                                      P3D, X-Plane, FSX
                                      J41, MD-11, 737, 747, 777, DC-6 [All versions of each aircraft]

                                      USAF Veteran [Aircraft Electrician / Egress Tech]

                                      Comment


                                        #22
                                        Originally posted by PC Pilot View Post
                                        I installed the hotfix not because of any problems but because I thought it would be good to have the latest version: I was wrong! I noticed two major differences (at least for me):

                                        1. The exterior lighting has been dimmed too much. The taxi lights no longer provide enough illumniation to see where I'm taxiing. Now I need to use the landing lights and the beam is not as wide as before.

                                        2. I noticed a bit of jitter which did not exist before.

                                        Needless to say, I will be going back to 4.5.11 and hopefully LM will fix this, otherwise night time operations will be a pain.

                                        My advice: If you're not currently having issues do not apply the hotfix.
                                        odd, i dont experience those issues. I mean, the lights are dimmer but i actually dont mind that.
                                        Michael Backes
                                        ----------------------

                                        Comment


                                          #23
                                          Originally posted by cmakris View Post

                                          Please follow the rules. Rule No1 states that you need to have your real name first and last. You keep ignoring it
                                          Ok its done for signature.

                                          1- I removed p3d shaders
                                          2- I uninstalled and installed client ans scenery of p3d 4.5
                                          3- I uninstalled and installed PMDG 747-400 QOTSII Base Package P3D
                                          4- I dont repair existing texture

                                          and the problem still there...

                                          Any suggestions will be appreciate.

                                          Regards 747 pmdg problem.jpg








                                          Pierre Legault

                                          Comment


                                            #24
                                            Pierre, in the future please do not use uninstall/install cycles as a troubleshooting method. It usually just adds problems to the original problem. Always best to methodical troubleshoot.

                                            Your problem description in post #9 to this thread was very brief and I do not understand what you did that resulted in original problem. You say you updated 4.5 with operations center. That confuses me. 4.5 is the P3D version that is not updated with operations center. As far as QOTSII updates go, these are done with operations center but there was not a recent update for the product for the P3D hotfix. No update was required.

                                            I notice you updated the scenery module for P3D as well. Why? It's unusual to update scenery because then it is possible that addon scenery needs to be reinstalled.

                                            After you select the vehicle, does it load and appear normal? Does the 20 sec initialization countdown happen? More info please.

                                            One more question: When you updated P3D to v4.5 before hotfix, were there any problems? When did problems start?
                                            Dan Downs KCRP

                                            Comment


                                              #25
                                              Originally posted by DDowns View Post

                                              After you select the vehicle, does it load and appear normal? Does the 20 sec initialization countdown happen? More info please.

                                              One more question: When you updated P3D to v4.5 before hotfix, were there any problems? When did problems start?

                                              Hello Dan
                                              First of all, thank you for your quick reply.

                                              Recently I uninstalled QOTSII and then update the product with the PMDG Operations Center (OC). When I had the problem I only did the update with OC and when I saw that it was not correcting anything that is where I uninstalled and reinstalled QOTSII but was not the solution that I see now.

                                              Then I reinstalled and reinstalled p3d 4.5 (client / scenery) to see if the problem would remain without result elsewhere. If I reinstall the scenery I thought the problem due to a corrupt file.

                                              Yes the countdown appears as before. From the inside of the cockpit everything is normal it is from the outside view that the textures do not appear.

                                              I upgraded from version 4.3 to version 4.5 without installing version 4.4 because I was away from home when this version was released in late December, I came back home in early May. QOTSII worked very well with versions 4.3 to 4.0.

                                              Is it possible to find version 4.4? Maybe the hotfix is ​​related to this version.

                                              Thanks again
                                              Pierre Legault

                                              Comment


                                              • DDowns
                                                DDowns commented
                                                Editing a comment
                                                Pierre, please install P3D content. Remove the content, download the installer and two cab files, install the content. Some users had problems with latest version of QOTSII unless they installed the content module when updating from P3Dv4.4 to v4.5. Hope this helps.

                                              #26
                                              Pierre, if you went from 4.3 to 4.5, you would have needed to update the content. 4.4 introduced PBR and required both client and content to be updated. Since you went from 4.3 to 4.5, you're likely using outdated content, so the content needs to be updated.
                                              Captain Kevin

                                              Live streams of my flights here.
                                              Kevin Yang

                                              Comment


                                                #27
                                                Originally posted by Captain Kevin View Post
                                                Pierre, if you went from 4.3 to 4.5, you would have needed to update the content. 4.4 introduced PBR and required both client and content to be updated. Since you went from 4.3 to 4.5, you're likely using outdated content, so the content needs to be updated.
                                                Hi Kevin,

                                                When I installed the first time v 4.5 I uninstalled before all v4.3 (scenery, content, academic and academic client). I tried to find v4.4 to install this version before but I dont found it. My p3d components are up to date (4.5.12.30293) and QOTSII still have texture problem.
                                                You know when I can find p3d v4.4?

                                                Thanks


                                                Pierre Legault

                                                Comment


                                                  #28
                                                  Originally posted by pile View Post

                                                  Hi Kevin,

                                                  When I installed the first time v 4.5 I uninstalled before all v4.3 (scenery, content, academic and academic client). I tried to find v4.4 to install this version before but I dont found it. My p3d components are up to date (4.5.12.30293) and QOTSII still have texture problem.
                                                  You know when I can find p3d v4.4?

                                                  Thanks

                                                  Are you using URP by any chance?
                                                  Chris Makris (Olympic260)
                                                  PMDG Technical Support
                                                  http://www.pmdg.com

                                                  Comment


                                                    #29
                                                    Originally posted by cmakris View Post

                                                    Hi Chris,

                                                    Are you using URP by any chance?
                                                    I used Envshade but I removed the contain of Shaders folder and let p3d rebuild it.


                                                    Pierre Legault

                                                    Comment


                                                      #30
                                                      Originally posted by pile View Post

                                                      I used Envshade but I removed the contain of Shaders folder and let p3d rebuild it.

                                                      That is not enough. Those HLSL shaders were also modified and the only way you can revert to unmodified is to repair you P3D installation. Envshade support should help you with this.

                                                      Just a note for future reference, before you install stuff that modifies your P3D you should understand how to remove it.
                                                      Dan Downs KCRP

                                                      Comment

                                                      Working...
                                                      X